Lesson on: What do you need to create web sites?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #web7 years ago

Hello my people! I am a web developer and designer. This post is not for skilled programmers, but for people that want to learn, how to make a web sites. Soon, everybody will have to have their own web site / online portfolio. In this article I will focus on what do you need, not on every single technology. In next lessons, I will write about programming languages, practices and more advanced things.

s1.png
Pictures are not mine.

First question: Do you want to pay for a web site or to build it your self?

Answer 1: I want to pay for it.
Than this is not a post for you. I will talk in my next posts about paying for programming services and how not to get tricked.

Answer 2: I want to build it!
We are going to the next question.

Second question: Do you want to build a web site from the zero or you want to make your work easier?

Answer 1: I want my work to be as easiest as possible.
If this is the case, than I recommend you a web application called wix ( https://www.wix.com ). You can make you web site, simply, by dragging and dropping texts, images and other objects that your site may contain. By using it, you do not need to know how to program, but you are very limited if you need custom functionalities like, chat, email system, search engine, CMS (content management system)...
s2.jpg

Answer 2: I want to program, but not from the zero.
Than, I recommend you WordPress. Wordpress is most used CMS (content management system). It is very easy to manage content that you and your users publish on your site. If you are not a designer, there is a ton of themes that you can use, and if you need additional functionalities, there is a ton of plugins that make them for you. If you want to program, than you need to learn some PHP, which is back-end programming language. Whole WordPress is based on PHP. For front-end (design and user experience ), you need to learn HTML, which make a structure of web site / application, CSS, which is used for layout, colors, fonts and even animations and JavaScript, which is the most powerful language ever. JavaScript is used in Web development, Game development and Mobile development. I will write many lessons on each of these languages. This post is teoretical, not practical.

s3.png

Answer 3: I want to program from zero!!!
In this case, you need to be at least intermediate level on HTML (Structure), CSS (Static design), JavaScript (Dynamic design), PHP (Server-side language) and SQL. SQL is database language. Example: If you are making a online store, you need a database to store all of the products, prices, customers... Everything is stored in database, so you need SQL. There are many frameworks, that helps you, but in the beginning, you must learn these languages without any tools and frameworks.

s4.jpg

For web design, I recommend Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator.

There is a lot more on this theme. I will post constantly more and more lessons, from basic to advanced levels of web development.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65