Changing My Career Path, Day 1

in #web-development6 years ago (edited)

Kicking up my steem career with a re-post of my first (out of two) article at Linkedin. If it gears up I might take on that long overdue followup.

me.jpg
Hi, I'm Erez, I'm 35 years old, and after about a decade of working in various financial roles today is the first day I'm out of a job - because I chose to. I left what could probably be called a cushy job (not because it was easy mind you, far from it, but I did enjoy a high job security and decent pay) to venture into the unknown world of Web Development. You may ask why the hell would anyone do that and I might even have a good answer to post some time later (That is if I decide I like this blogging thing, it's my first time).

The hitchhiker's guide to the galaxy has some sound advice for situations like this:

Don't Panic!


So now that we have successfully established that I possess some geek strands we can safely examine that advice. The truth is there is no reason to panic: First, this is not really day 1. Day 1 was a while ago when this whole process was nothing more than a vague idea. I've done my research and I think I am prepared, and since I am already deep in the process (again, not really day 1), I am good!

Second, Please forgive me all future recruiters who may read this article, but being out of the job market for a few months really isn't such a big deal. Why?

because it's not a spur of the moment decision. You can rest assured that coming from the financial sector, there's a nice excel sheet somewhere with a budget for me to break.
It is meant to create an improvement in the quality of life in the medium - long run, meaning it's an investment. Sow today, rip the rewards tomorrow.
Most importantly: we've planned for this, and by we I mean that my family is an important part of the process. I am not a lone maverick anymore thus there is no way I would have taken this up without full support from my home court.
Here's my goal: by the summer of this year I intend to have enough knowledge of HTML, CSS and Javascript to begin my journey as a developer. Why begin? consider this: a common misconception about martial arts is that one strives to achieve a black belt. That is incorrect. The first rank of a black belt is generally termed Shodan - and means a beginning. Attaining a black belt simply means you have some of the basics and are ready to start down a long endless path of studying. The black belt by itself is not a goal, and really is nothing more than a color unless you actually do something with it.

Web development is not martial arts, but I'm told the world of software shares some similarity. If you fail to continuously search and improve yourself, you'll fall behind. That is why this summer, my journey is just beginning.

Liked this article? Want me to keep posting about my progress? Comment, Connect or Follow and let me know!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62