What is a good first HTML + CSS project?

in #web-design7 years ago

business-1839876_1920.jpg

Hey Steemit Community!

I recently finished the introductory HTML + CSS walkthrough on CodeAcademy and I am looking for some inspiration on what is a good first project. After doing some cursory research it looks like the most common thing is to design a simple personal website. I will definitely build a personal website if that is the best way to solidify some of the foundational skills, but I am interested to hear some other suggestions.

What is a good first HTML + CSS project?

Additionally, what would you suggest is the next language I should start learning? JavaScript?

Thank you in advance for the suggestions!

Sort:  

For the browser side (so called, Front End)
Bootstrap maybe the next goal, and jQuery(Javascript) will be next.

If you're tired of HTML stuff,
you can enter server side programming (so called Back End)
Recently, server side trend is also Javascript Node.

Javascript is essential to Web programming.

Thanks for the advice!

After speaking with a colleague, I am actually going to be a test subject. He develops in elm and wants to see how I would approach/experience JS after learning a functional language.

Again, I greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide me some of your thoughts!

After learning a bit of HTML and CSS I'd say JavaScript is definitely your best option!

Maybe you could create a little website that shows your Steem profile and stats? You could start out with HTML and CSS to make it look good, and then explore JavaScript (with SteemJS) to add some live information from your Steemit profile? (Reputation, latest posts, etc)

That sounds like a great idea. Thank you for the advice and suggestion, I greatly appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51