Oklahoma Weather Anomalies in April

in #weather6 years ago

_DSC0725.JPG

April has been a very strange month for much of the US. Record snows fell in northern parts of the US while some suffered strange swings from warm to cold to warm again. Here in Oklahoma, it has been much colder than usual. Our last frost date is supposed to be towards the end of March, but we've had one as recently as the 18th.

I planted some tomatoes on the 16th after seeing warmer weather in the forecast with some days as low as the upper 40's. It was 85 that day with a warm southerly wind. Imagine my surprise on the 18th to find frost on my tomato plants, killing them all. Our forecasts have been way off as, with many of the days being much colder (or warmer) than forecasted.

The above photo was taken on Tuesday when wildfires were roaring across western Oklahoma. The wind pushed the smoke all the way to our house which grayed out the skies. Temperatures in the western part of the state reached as high as 98 degrees with a strong wind making for historically high fire danger. More than 366,00 acres were burned. A few days later, the weather here dropped to the upper 20's and has gotten a half inch of rain as of this morning.

_DSC0717.JPG

Planes can be seen daily leaving long trails in the sky. Very few days will we see truly clear skies.

_DSC0728.JPG

This photo was taken of a sunset last night. They don't look much like rain clouds, but we are getting a ton of rain this morning. We went over 20 days here with less than 0.10" of rain so we needed it. What kind of weather will May hold for us? Hopefully we can finally get a warming trend so I can get my garden going. This coming week is forecasted to be fairly mild. We planted beans and zucchini yesterday to take advantage of the rain today. Will it be warm enough to germinate? I guess we'll have to wait and see.

Rakkasan.jpgvet tag.png

Sort:  

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

It is the same way here in Georgia. This was going to be my first year to try to have a garden since the accident. I was going to buy plants instead of trying to grow from seed, but we had so many late frosts, all the veggies were dead or dying. Even now, we're going down into the mid to high 30's and only in the 50's and 60's during the day. But it is supposed to add about 10 to 15 degrees to those number for the next couple of days. Rain is something we have been having tons of. Heavy soaking rain. It is just weird!

My beets, turnips, and carrots are the only veggies I've seeded that are in the ground right now and still alive. My turnips took a really nasty freeze and I thought they were gone, but they bounced back. My cabbage was frostburnt and then eaten by the bugs. Fortunately I have some backup tomato plants growing with my peppers inside. Hope you get some stable growing weather soon!

We've been having crazy weather in VA too, you are right that weather across the board has just been all over the place. We lost some of the plants that we planted too and it was so frustrating. The pictures that you posted are beautiful. Thanks for sharing :)
Ivy

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thanks for putting this out there. A real and serious issue is Geoengineering and Weather Modification if you were to ask me. Best we can do is keep getting our perspective out there so I hope to see more from you in the future. Sadly I am willing to bet you will have lots of opportunities over this coming summer.

Upvoted - Resteemed - Followed!

mindset-743166_1280.jpg

Cool pictures.

Thanks for your upvote on my veteran resource guide.

Cool stuff that you are writing about. I am a closet prepper on the very low scale. lol

I am showing fellow veterans and others how to monetize their blogs and become online entrepreneurs.

Hopefully, this info can help you as well.

Best regards. upvoted and following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86