Winter Solstice

in #weather7 years ago

Howdy Forward Thinkers-

Today is December 21st, 2016...the shortest day and longest night of the year...it is also the first day of winter! 

I moved up North to Michigan from Los Angeles in Southern California...and one of the things I have noticed since I have been here, are the days are much longer during the spring and summer months than the days during the fall and winter. I could not believe how much sunshine there was in June...it was light out from before 7am till after 9pm...and today it was light out a little before 8am and dark just after 5pm...more than 5 hours less of sunshine. 

Seeing the seasons changes is something I have not really witness till this past year here in Detroit...truly a magnificent and majestic process to experience. I am looking forward to seeing this cycle many more times...and as I get accustom to the different weather...my knowledge and understanding of Mother Nature continues to grow and expand :-)

Sort:  

I connect to your post as an expat Angeleno though I moved a bit farther away... half way across the world actually. Still, my family is in LA and it is my home and, well...I simply like your post!

I appreciate you letting me know...what part of LA are your from and where did you move to?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84