A Look At One Of The Largest Mansions In Dallas

in #wealth5 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

One of the more prestigious estates in Dallas was on the market recently and just sold so we have lots of photos that aren't normally available to the public.

It's pretty impressive with 37,000 sq ft, 10 bedrooms, 22 bathrooms, 4 dining areas, 10 living rooms, a library of course, 11 fireplaces, 2 theaters or media rooms, a grand ballroom, 2 basketball courts, a tennis court, a 10 car garage, a pool, a 4,000 sq ft pool house, a 3,300 sq ft guest house, a 10 million dollar water park in the back yard....on 14 acres!

Whew! That's the biggest sentence I've ever written.

3JQI7W654BFYPCZ2JIZSFAUJPM.jpg
source

This magnificent home was built about 1940, or I should say it was finished about 1940, it took a few years to build and they brought artisans and craftsmen from Europe to do much of the work. The owner was an Italian guy who built it to stay in when he was here to oversee his cotton empire.

Texas was a huge cotton growing state, that's why they favored slavery so much, they wanted them for the cotton fields.

First let's take a look at some of the architecture and stone work:

5555-Walnut-Hill-Crespie35mm-068-359x550.jpg
source

5555-Walnut-Hill-Crespie35mm-008-550x367.jpg
source

This is the Crespi family coat of arms above the main entrance:

5555-Walnut-Hill-Crespie35mm-205-373x550-305x450.jpg
source

You don't see this kind of stone work anymore:

5555-Walnut-Hill-Crespie35mm-150-361x550.jpg
source

5555-Walnut-Hill-Crespie35mm-209-363x550.jpg
source

Cool shot of the pool. Gotta have a pool in Texas:
HicksHouse-30.jpg

source

This is the guest house:
Hollow-Way-10000-2893-800x518.jpg

source

Some of the garages:
Main-House-Garage-From-West.jpg

source

Here's what the backyard used to look like, which I really like. Very peaceful and harmonious with nature:
HicksHouse-49.jpg

source

There was a creek running through it:
HicksHouse-47.jpg

source

But the developers that bought it a couple years ago spent 10 million dollars putting in this big water park, which I think it garish:

QUNE5E55QVCQJIFKDS2WPDATDA.jpg
source

Okay, now for some interior shots:

The main dining room:

2669A60A00000578-2985292-image-a-88_1425842253867.jpg
source

The library:

dallas-6.jpg
source

The ball room:

HicksHouse-05.jpg
source

View of the master bedroom patio/balcony on the 2nd floor, that would be sweet!

HicksHouse-22.jpg
source

The other side of the master bedroom looking out over the front lawn:

HicksHouse-23.jpg
source

Every mansion has to have a conservatory:

Hicks-Main-House-Conservatory-Facing-North.jpg
source

Kitchen of course:

Hicks-Main-House-Kitchen.jpg
source

One of the baths, look at that marble!

egnq01.jpg
source

One of the living rooms. The inlaid floor is incredible!

Hicks-Main-House-Living-Room-Facing-South.jpg
source

Staircase leading up to the master bedroom:

Hollow-Way-10000-0194-366x550.jpg
source

One of the media rooms:

Hollow-Way-10000-1334-800x525.jpgtheater-Hicks-home-575x377.jpg
source

I had to laugh when I saw this photo, this is the man's closet off the master bedroom with a fireplace!

ISaly10yhvj0di0000000000.jpg
source

Another living room, look at the ceiling, I love those!

hr3829355-9.jpg
source

I don't know what they call this room but I love that spiral staircase!

WDCK77TYQVD7FOTIGLMTMHJBXU.jpg
source

Here's the layout of the estate:

Walnut-Hill-5555-DN-888-edit-cropped-550x327 (1).jpg
source

Well, that's probably as much opulence as you can handle in one post so I'll stop here.

The purchase price is a secret but I figure it's somewhere between 45 and 60 million because the developers who bought it two years ago paid 36 million and then updated it plus spent 10 mil on that water park.

A wealthy local family bought it. Well, that goes without saying, of course they'd have to be wealthy! lol. What would you do with it if you were able to buy such a property?

Steemitinc is just down the road in Austin, think you'd be hosting Steemfest every year?

9ir66o.png

Thanks for stopping by folks, I like seeing how the 1% live. Stay cool and keep dreamin!

-jonboy
Texas

d25fwk.png

mv4t7d.png

xsfpf7.png

Sort:  

Try to do the math. What price of steem would you need to buy it?

Holy smokes! lol..I don't think my calculator goes that high!

Hey @janton! Wow, what a beauty minus that horrendous waterpark! Being rich doesn't mean that you are very smart! Haha.

1940s Italian.... Sure cotton farm... Right... 🧐🧐🧐🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy sir badger! The next owner will probably tear down the 10 million dollar water park! You saying the original owner didn't come by his money legitimately? lol.

It certainly is a beautiful home/castle. The average person or family would be lost in that big a home.

If I had that kind of money to buy it, I would pass as it is too much to take care of, even with help.

Just think how impressed your friends would be when you invited them over for dinner redheadpei! lol. I'd probably have 5 or 10 families living there that I was helping out.

Your firm sold this? Looks pretty good...A lot of cleaning though. I'll take a log cabin in the woods instead.

Oh no, we're out of the real estate business and we only marketed bank-owned properties. We did that in Ohio. Besides, you'd have to be extremely well connected politically to get a listing like this one with a commission of over a million dollars.
If you could afford this place you'd have a staff to do all your cleaning, and everything else! lol. I know, it would probably be boring for you.

Ah, I see, yes I recall you saying you've moved on from RE but you mentioned having access to non-public photos so.

$1m isn't a bad comm. huh? My best was $200,000 but it dropped dramatically from there to $87,000. Average was about $15,000 over the 16 years I was selling. Now just salary + bonus over budget as I'm the business manager and not in sales. I refer my clients to one of the sales guys and get a 20% clip of his comm which is cool. Keeps the home-fires burning.

Howdy tonight sir galenkp! I probably wasn't clear about the photos but I meant that since it was listed we could see the insides from the listing photos which normally we'd never be privileged to.

I think you got a good deal going with your present set up!

Hey mate! Yeah, I've worked hard to build the skills that someone in my position requires, and I'm always learning - Never fail to learn something new, I say. I'm fortunate to have great Directors and to be proficient at my role. It gives me the ability for autonomy.

That's excellent! Many people want to retire as soon as possible, what do you think about retirement?

Wow! I could place my house inside this one and then forget where I put it. LOL.

lol..yeah me too.. I could place my house in the ballroom! Yeah that's crazy big. They mentioned that there was a caretakers house on the property too because it's so large that it's a full time job maintaining everything. That wouldn't be a bad job.

Wow - it always amazes me these huge houses - it must be nice having a lot of money but I will never live in such a big house. It is very impressive - but I am more impressed by how people are, not what they have.

I agree, I just like to see how the wealthy live. I'd put that place to good use if I had it though. I could help house alot of people who are struggling or homeless.

Your post has been curated by the bitcoin myk project. Tokens are available for this account you can trade for steem at: https://steem-engine.com/. Join our curation priority list to earn more tokens by registering at:

http://www.bitcoinmyk.com/register/

Visit our discord at: https://discordapp.com/channels/523971711733858364/523971711733858366

Bitcoin MYK
admin
Register - Bitcoin MYK
This post earned 50 BTCMYK

Thank you sirbearbear! You're an officer and a gentleman. Well, a gentleman anyway.

Rich people really like big don't they? Just imagine booking this house as a Air B&B.

lol..yeah at $10,000 per day! What would you do if you owned it angiemitchell? I'd have that thing so full of people that I was helping. lol.

I so agree janton. The cost of this mansion is almost obscene isn't it?

It sure is but I think it's worth it for the priceless materials and amenities. I bet that marble bathroom with Italian marble costs more than my house and land! I would put it to good use though..the estate, not just that bathroom. lol.

But, mind you I could live in luxury for a week or so just revelling in the marble, lol.

I agree. Hey you could probably rent the place out to millionaires visiting Dallas for $10,000 a week!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6.66% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy steem-plus and thanks for the upvote!

I wouldn't want to own that, even if I had the money to impulse-buy it. I mean, seriously... Who thinks they need something like that? Even if you're a super-wealthy businessman who needs to entertain guests, there are better ways. Besides, I could think of a few better things to do with that kind of money.

Oh, and also, it's not apocalypse-proof! The zombies would definitely get in there.

That's true about the zombies, it would take tons of work to get it zombie proof! lol. Well so far no one commenting would even want the place, I'm a little surprised. I suppose if I do a post about a rustic cabin everyone will be gaga over it!

I agree, though..it's so huge what in the world would you do with it? I'd sell it, get out of the city and buy a nice ranch in the country. Or a few in various states. Like a summer home in MN.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64411.29
ETH 3516.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55