The history of the stock market: Why people need to chill out.

in #wealth6 years ago

The thing to remember is that the stock market always rebounds and keeps on trucking.

This graph is well done and illustrates the example well.

Screen Shot 2018-02-07 at 12.35.45 AM.png

I vividly remember the 2007ish crash and how my parents just stuck it out and kept their savings in the market. I wish they threw more money at it, but I lost that battle. They were back to even in a matter of years and have done well since then. So this little blip from the last couple days in both crypto and the stock market can cause a lot of anxiety. Seeing red (my +10.75% over the last 3 months turned to nothing in a big hurry) is no fun, but it just means there will be more green in the future.

This is just a perfect example of why you need to have diverse investments and plan it out so you don't lose your safety net if the market takes a dive. I assume a worst case scenario of losing 1/4 of my invested money before I get wise and either pull some out (only to be reinvested when I think it has reached the nadir of the dip) or reallocate to more stable investments.

On that note, please excuse me while I go transfer some more funds into Robinhood :)

Which you should be aware of. Free trades are awesome, especially for active traders who don't have a ton of money to throw at trade fees and no balance fees got me started with just $25 a while back.
Feel free to use this to sign up if you want a free stock (I get one too!): http://share.robinhood.com/chasek8

As usual, I'm not a financial advisor but this was all spelled out very clearly to me when I started working with my wife's years ago. He made me read a few books so I would understand the history and why he was suggesting what he was suggesting. Makes all of the ups and downs bearable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66593.69
ETH 3319.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71