Weekend Freewrite with @mellindor - Sound of Sirens

in #we-write6 years ago

Greetings, friends!

Here we are, first time participating in a duo #freewrite, A.K.A. #we-write challenge with @mellindor - a talented friend of mine, a writer and an illustrator I would like you to meet. I will keep this intro short, I mean it's pauses here for the moment... There, it's paused.

I mean I will be mentioning her again but for now, just sharing the exercises in writing we did - each of us two pieces of 5 minutes. I started Story I and she finished it, then she started Story II and I finished it.

Lily_Mazurova_16_04_2016_ph007a_s.jpg
The photo is my original work.

Story I

@manoldonchev

I woke up to the sound of sirens. Rushed out of the bedroom to the window overhanging the street to find it was absolutely not what I had expected during the last… actually four seconds since I jumped out from under the blanket.

Obviously, not the signal system, nor any other audible sound all those people walking the pavement and sidewalks could hear themselves. Life seemed to go on in a peaceful fashion for everybody.

For everybody else, that is. The sound was still in my brain, screaming danger. For us? For me? No, it was danger to a creature. A woman looking creature among all others on the street. Simply walking, one hand in the hand of a big man with an expensive black suit and shoes. No obvious violence, either. But the call was unmistakable.

@mellindor

I flew. Grabbed my disguise and jumped out the window. The call was impossible to refuse.
When I landed on the street, I quickly reached the minds of the passersbys. They'd think I'd been there all along.
All except the man in the suit.
He looked at me and I was sure he saw my ears and the tail.
'Officer Carn from the Institute’, he introduced himself and flipped his card at me. 'Any problems, sir?’
'The woman’, I said, 'Is she arrested?’
'She’s a siren. Tried to eat my face back there. And you are?’
I looked at the woman. Her gaze was empty. Was she hypnotized?
'But I know her’, I said. 'She comes to my tea shop every day. She's usually very calm, never feeds out on the street.’
'Well, first time for everything’, the officer said. 'Now do you have anything else to say or can I take her to the Institute?’


Story II

@mellindor

It was like the voice of his mother, and the songs that she sang while he was so little that he could walk under the table. He hummed in his sleep and then thought that it actually sounded more like Monica, the one he was dating last summer. She was a musician, she used to wake him up each morning, singing in the shower.
Yeah, those mornings were the best. Great for sex.
He opened his eyes and saw her. She looked like his mother at first, then Monica, then this girl from the cafe who came to his mind so often these days.
And then he saw her more clearly.

@manoldonchev

‘Julian King?’, asked the lean blonde officer in sky blue uniform the buttons of which barely kept from spilling across the floor. It must have become tighter after being washed for the first time. The officer could not have started on her job long ago. That’s how young she looked to Julian.

‘Yeah, sure am’, he managed, still feeling groggy.

‘You need to come with me, sir’, the cadet said politely but with a tone that allowed no … I forgot the word… objection.

The sirens were still howling down below the building, as if to say ‘You’re in deep trouble...’



Well,

that happened. I guess we just busted each other's characters. She might claim she did it first but I shall claim the opposite. See if I don't.

Anyway, I'd like you to say one more time... The purpose of this was introducing my friend to the communities I know on Steem, starting with #freewrite and the @freewritehouse account.

Wishing you all a great night's rest and a most excellent week!

Yours,

Manol

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Pretty cool exercise. You guys work well together.

Thanks, I hope it works for all of us.

Hey, @manoldonchev!

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Thank you for your support! I hope my partner in this finds her way through Steem communities, too.

Thank you so much for participating. I am traveling right now - more in the next couple of days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40