China love Watermelon! - Benefits of watermelon

One thing that I can't help but notice, since I arrived in China 3 months ago, is the chinese people's love of watermelon! image

Watermelon has to be China's favourite fruit! I can't go even a few hours without seeing somebody, somewhere eating the fleshy red fruit. I see it in every shop!. It is served daily to the kids in my centre, my ex-housemates would eat it almost religiously after dinner.

Just this evening, as I was walking back home through the houtong I could see many men and women sitting outside enjoying watermelon too! So that is what inspired this post!
image
Benefits of Watermelon

  1. Watermelon is 90% water, perfect for hydrating on a hot summer day in beijing
  2. In chinese medicine,watermelon is thought to cure constipation caused by heat - scientifically speaking this is due to its rich water and fibre content
  3. Watermelon is a "cold" food in nature,chinese medicine has the yin and yang theory of balancing hot and cold to restore balance within the body
  4. High in vitamin A, helping keep our skin,hair and body tissues in tip top condition
  5. High in vitamin C,keeps our immune systems strong
  6. Great for weight regulation, watermelon has that satisfying sweet taste while simultaneously being low in calories, the fibre and water create a full feeling in our stomach making us feel full up!

I think the chinese may be onto something here ;)

Sort:  

Amazing post.

I think you've sold me on watermelon, which I didn't like much for some time! That first picture is impossibly adorable, by the way.

Yay :D shes a cutie

You're right on every point. I still prefer cheesecake for dessert though ;-)

haha same if i had the choice ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47