What I Ate to Break My 5 Day Water Fast

in #waterfast7 years ago (edited)

Good afternoon, Steemians!

After five days on a water fast, it's a really good idea to break it slowly, with water-rich fruits. I chose to break my fast with watermelon, because it's 92% water, and I love them very much.

In addition to watermelon, I chose to eat some lychees and mamoncillos, which are the green shelled fruit you'll see next to the lychees

IMG_2959.JPG

Now I've never had mamoncillo before so I didn't know what to expect... they turned out being a little more sour than the lychees (which were awesome) and very gooey and sticky.

IMG_2960.JPG

First bite - it was so delicious - we chilled it in the fridge first

IMG_2961.JPG

IMG_2965.JPG

I'm going to take it easy for the rest of the day and not push the limits of my stomach, because I'm really full.

Thank you so much for following my fast and thanks for stopping by this time!

Hansen's Gift.gif

Sort:  

What is your reason for fasting? I also did a 14 day water fast last year. I broke the fast with coconut water, oranges, and kimchi on the first day. On the second day, I ate watermelon, kimchi, and porridge. On the succeeding days, I ate other kinds of fruits, slice bread with peanut butter and kimchi. On the first three days, I felt bloated and I deficated on the fourth day.

I wanted to better control portions and eat more naturally. By fasting, I could play with my own mind and give myself a reason to limit things. After refeeding, I began to do this and now I'm 80-90% raw. :D

Amazing. What kind of raw food do you eat? I want to eat raw vegetables but I am worried about the pesticides and other chemical the farmer put into them.

I usually buy organic greens, but buy conventional cucumbers, onions, tomatoes, zucchini squash, etc. I do eat beans though so I'm not 100% raw. I think legumes are an important part of a healthy diet.

What is your usual diet for breakfast, snack, lunch and dinner? Do you eat the same kind of food every day? Aside from beans, where do you get the proteins needed for your body?

I have coffee and bananas usually, then just any more fruit if I'm hungry and then a big salad at night. Definitely not the same stuff every day, sometimes melons or cantaloupe or grapes or apples, oranges, whatever. Plants have all the protein we need, so I'm not worried about it :-)

Yeah you are right but I think the protein content in most plants is not enough for the body needs. I can see that you only eat a small amount of food every day. How much calories do you consume every day? Are you losing weight, maintaining it or gaining weight?

I've probably lost a little weight due to the hurricane and stress but I'm usually about 165-170 and I'm 5'10" all my blood work always comes back great. Plants have protein!!! You don't actually need as much as you'd think.

It's really cool following you and watching you during your fasting. For how long are you going to keep it up?

I'm done :D I broke the fast yesterday with watermelon :D

Ooh, I thought that was just like a break and youre continuining with it later on :P

Amazing! I guess there is no better way to break a fast than with watermelon :)

Strawberries also have the same water content as watermelon :D

I can't believe that you got both dogs to look at the camera at the same time. They're so hyper! Lol

Haha we were surprised too! Roxana took the picture at the perfect time!

Great post @vegansilverstack! It's awesome to have found your post since I'm doing a 7 days Water Fasting challenge myself. I'm now about to post my second day video update.

I remember the first time I've ate after my first water fasting challenge, it was after 6 days. I had prepared a boiled potatoes salad, with some onions and some kind of salad in it, if I remember correctly. I didn't want to put too much stuff into it.
Anyway, that salad was soo good, and I enjoyed every little bite of it. Keeping it in my mouth and tasting everything it had to offer. I really felt blessed while eating it.

I'm glad to have found your profile. Followed! :)

Yes, I did the same! I savored every bite. :) Followed you too.

... watermelon looks nice! What are the changes to your body that you are noticing?smashed watermellon on white bg   melon mellon.png

Well over the past few days I haven't had eye boogers, I'm not sweating as much, either and BO has gone away. My wife said my eyes look clearer. I feel better too after this fast :)

... I thought sweating was a good thing, as all the toxins get released from the body.

Also, look into Chlorella - really good stuff for ridding the body of all sorts of nasties!

29-Chlorella-Info-383x480.jpg

Congrats on five days, that watermelon looks delicious!

Thank you :) It was! I can't wait for mangos tomorrow!

yummy, I love those fruits :)
enjoy your day! ;)

Congratulations @vegansilverstack! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59453.81
ETH 2607.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39