Under the curtains of Majestic Cascades: On Chasing Waterfalls

in #waterfalls6 years ago

C360_2017-02-10-07-58-20-004.jpg

                        Majestic cascades,
                 Chattering with rocks and moss,
                    Slipping through the trees.


Falling is a natural phenomenon. Everything that has weight can be pulled inwards because of the gravity. This is something that we experience everyday. There are times wherein books slip and fall out of our hands, there are also those unlucky times with which we accidentally fall into a puddle of mud, fall down a flight of stairs, fall off from a chair or simply fall in love. All of us have experienced falling. And most of these are associated with something painful or unpleasant. But there is an exception to that--- water falling from a cliff into a wide basin down below. Yes, you know what I mean, I'm referring to probably one of the most beautiful amongst all falling things-- #Waterfalls.



C360_2017-02-07-00-09-48-842.jpg



There's just really something about the sound of water falling down below, about the way it calmly passes through rocks and moss like it just religiously follows the path laid ahead for it like everything is where it should be. The way the water then gushes out to form a small pool at where the water drops and how the water is being collected and being held inside a natural basin but then when it overflows, it goes into the river to continue it's journey. There's something about how the trees and the boulders are conspiring to conceal such wonder. The refreshing feeling of how cool the water is and the sound of the wind being manipulated by the strength of the cascades that you'll just be blown away.



IMG_20170215_162146_812.jpg
.

C360_2018-04-26-16-46-48-113.jpg



When you come face to face with a waterfall, you'll just simply stand in awe and stare at it's magnitude. The feeling is something you cannot contain. It would take a while for you to absorb everything because you've encountered yet one of nature's most beautiful handiwork. Your troubles and worries would stand small compared to the gigantic beauty. It will be Eudaimonia in an instant-- the feeling of being contented and happy. ✨


C360_2017-10-29-22-35-14-891.jpg


Such feeling is what drives me to continue discovering and chasing these waterfalls. I still remember the first time I have experienced stepping into the cool water from the waterfall and the feeling is exactly as I've mentioned above. I loved how it just instantly washed all of my burdens away and replaced it with awe and gratitude. From that moment on, my longing for more jaw-dropping waterfall encounter started and then the chase commenced.


IMG_20170627_161156_874.jpg


Luckily though, I did not have to go far because Cebu, the place that I'm from is blessed with more than 50 of these majestic waterfalls. All you have to do is find them. And in order to find them, you'll have to board the 2-4 hour bus ride down south, then ride in what we call "Habal-habal" or motorcycle taxis to take you up or down the less-traveled road into the waterfall's location and then at the jump-off, you have to walk 30mins-1hour in order to witness the waterfall's grandeur. Once you hit a river, you just have to listen very closely to the sound of the water and follow it upstream to where the water comes from. And after all of these, you'll be greatly rewarded with a sight to behold. 🍂


Let me share to you some waterfalls I have visited from my trip down south of Cebu.


522126_786474931389915_1959471856062840447_n.jpg

Mantayupan Falls in Barili

D144_1.jpg

Pityak Falls in Dumanjug

C360_2017-11-26-23-12-34-952_1.jpg

Kawasan Falls in Badian

C360_2017-02-02-18-57-57-593.jpg

Montpelier Falls in Alegria

C360_2017-04-11-15-50-16-009_1.jpg

Inambakan Falls in Ginatilan

C360_2018-04-23-04-22-41-896_1.jpg

Aguinid Falls in Samboan


And I still never get enough. At the end of each waterfalls-chasing journey, I always bring with me additional lessons and memories. The time I've spent out there looking for these wonders have taught me so much about myself and made me realize the important things in life. It made me appreciate the beauty of nature and the importance of us keeping them and taking care of them. The excitement I feel everytime I know I'm going to see yet another wonder makes me feel alive.

C360_2018-04-26-16-49-05-994.jpg


Chasing waterfalls is such a life-shaping experience you should also try yourself. Spend a day with nature. Soak yourself under the drops. Indulge in the cold waters. Let the flow wash your worries away. Allow the awesome feeling to overcome you. Lose yourself. Find yourself. It's an experience you have to give to yourself. 🌴


C360_2018-04-26-16-59-02-425.jpg

Never stop exploring Steemians.

P.S. All photos are mine.

Sort:  

Everything that has weight can be pulled inwards because of the gravity. Nice view and wonderful day

For the love of waterfalls 💓

sounds like an awesome place to go chasing waterfalls. gorgeous photos, I cant believe the color of the water!

It sure is! Cebu has a lot of waterfalls to offer. And that's just the South, Cebu. I've yet to explore the North. ✨ Thank you for the compliment as well :)

Amazing kaayo. Congratulations for being upvoted by curie ;)

I can't believe it myself. Me checks my phone after 15 hours and sees this. This is more than what I've expected and deserved. Thank youu. I'm so grateful. 💓

Thank youuuuu, up until now this still feels unreal 😱

wow jaw dropping waterfalls. I've been to Inambakan Falls in Ginatilan and the cold waterfalls calms your nerves as you soak your tired body in it. Your post urge me to go to waterfalls than pools. Nothing beats nature! You deserve your curied post! Hats off to you:)

Please do start your chasing waterfalls journey right away. I just love nature but Waterfalls are my favorite. 💓 Thank you so much for appreciating. 😍

Congratulations @chastityyy110! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46