Adventures in Bali in my Watercolor paintings

in #watercolor7 years ago

I absolutely love travelling. One of my most memorable trips was to Bali.
Gorgeous beaches of Nusa Dua, amazing waters of Nusa Penida, snorkeling in Amed, hiking up an active volcano Bromo, funny people, BEST western food lol and of course rice fields!
I am a watercolor artist but my "thing" is that I paint my trips...instead of taking photos. I lived in Thailand 3 years and traveled all around Asia quite a lot.
Tegallalang Rice Terraces in Bali are absolutely stunning, it is built in several layers or levels and look looks like a magical kingdom.

bali fields original watercolor painting.jpg

My favorite part was to come to a coffeeshop with my art supplies and just paint there ;)

Bali.jpg

But my heart was absolutely stolen by Jatiluwih Rice Terraces as this territory is way bigger and you can actually spend the whole day there. It doesn't look that commercial and you don't see locals trying to charge you for "entering" the fields (yes, that happened to me in Tegallalang )

rice fields bali indonesia asia original watercolor painting.jpg

Another thing that absolutely conquered my heart and stuck in my mind - was Balinese Dancing.
Those eyes!
No, seriously. It is not that much about moves (I even was invited by one of the dancers to join and dance with her haha), but it is about the emotions, game of eyes.. You can't stop following her.
traditional bali dance original watercolor painting.jpg

Balinese Dancing reminded me the Cambodian one - Apsara. I watched both on organized "concert" if I can say so. But well..Balinese impressed me way more. it's the emotional part that talks to me.

Have you ever been to Bali?
If yes, what did you like the most?

Sort:  

Really cool. Really talented.

Beautiful paintings. Thank you for sharing!

yay happy you liked it!

You have style, very good!

thanks ! :))

Love your paintings, @travelart!

Upvoted and esteemed.

I've been to Bali a couple of years ago, didn't like it too much to be honest. Bit too busy and touristy for my liking, especially Kuta. But perhaps I should give it another go. Your paintings definitely make it look like a place worth (re)visiting!

thanks for your words ;)
yeaaah Kuta is a disaster, I didn't go there. Typical tourist whole same as others.
I'd def recommend to check out less touristy spots with clear ocean and nice beaches and RICE FIELDS :))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66