Tutorial Fanart Ghibli Kiki's Delivery Service

in #watercolor6 years ago (edited)

Im entering some event about Ghibli's movie
Its a poster drawing of Kiki, ghibli best movie about a clumsy lil witch and her cat Jiji.
So, here I will post some progress how to draw this artwork in watercolor on 300gsm paper.

image

First of all, just draw the concept with light sketch on paper. And because i start to paint the sky first, i put masking fluid before painting the background.
Let the masking fluid dry first.

image

I use some torquaise blue from Ecoline for base and also Van Gogh's prussian blue for the sky.
A little purple and yellow for stary effect and galaxy

image

Peel stars masking. Paint the star with yellow and blend with red.

image

Let the watercolour dry then peel the masking fluid in body base.

image

I need to paint the hair first. So i add masking fluid by brush, to unselect the space.

image

Just add skin base colour. I use light orange for skin its looks like peach's colour.

image

Draw outline with dark brown blend softly with black. So does eyes and eyebrows.

image

I use white ballpoint for the stars and dont forget to paint Jiji the cat :)

image

Some hand lettering for Movie title :)

image

I also really enjoy drawing some ornament on the background.

image

Add more stars and the finish artwork!

image

Feel free to ask me anything i will answer it. And reblog if you like it. I hope you enjoy the artwork and progress.
Here I also post it on my instagram account

https://www.instagram.com/p/BdwsGBqhoE3/

Thanks for visiting :)
See you in another tutorial :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60813.09
ETH 3389.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52