Mushroom hunter

in #watercolor6 years ago


Watercolor/ink - Lily the curious hedgehog mushroom hunting

Let me tell you something funny I’ve noticed lately. I have difficulty of consuming series or movies unless it is something absolutely outstanding or sparks my full interest in some way. I simply cannot go through of forty minutes or more without getting bored or my mind racing thoughts about creating stuff instead, or how I should do more useful things in that time. Besides, it seems almost everything has the same formula with very few exceptional exceptions from time to time.

For the past year, since joining Steem, I’ve been gradually transforming myself back from a heavy consumer to a creator. In fact, I can’t recall doing much with my creativity since graduating from the university years back. Sad. I know. Such is boring adult life, but it doesn’t have to be.

I get excited about creating something like Lily cartoons and of course I understand how ridiculous it might seem to my parents. It is not serious enough for them or they don’t see how spending time drawing or anything joyful for that matter isn’t waste of time. I wish they would see it differently though or the positive changes this has brought to my mindset and quality of life.

Anyways, I now feel I have better balance between consuming and creating.

How about you?







Song of the day: Au5, Trove - The Journey 

Sort:  

I relate 100% !

I realised recently that I haven't been doing anything but creative work (and my teaching job, sadly) for most of this year... I get frustrated when doing things like playing games or watching Netflix, knowing that I could be using that time for the many creative pursuits I've found myself chasing ever since joining Steemit. Even No Man's Sky, something I enjoy more than any game I've ever played, including Skyrim, I've turned into a Steemit thing, mostly to stop myself from playing it excessively (by writing my character's "Diary", I'm forced to play in 2-3 hours bursts and then not play again until I've done the post, which can take a while...).

That being said, I am trying to remember that actually a bit of consuming time is actually good for the brain so I'm watching an episode a day of "Atypical" on Netflix .. A light, intelligent comedy I'd recommend.

But oh my gosh, Lily the Mushroom Hunter makes me so happy! I'm curious to see a painting of her after having eaten a particularly interesting magical mushroom ;P ...

Have you considered streaming playing No Man's Sky or some other game? It is a bit different and maybe not so creative, but at the same time it can be set up as time to interact with others via chat and live stream :)

True. Sometimes I especially focus on consuming something that I know will simulate my brain with new perspectives, ideas or simply rest watching something light and funny.

Magical mushroom :D That can be arranged. You know what, I recently joined Smoke network, not because I smoke(I don't), but just for fun. So I have another character there that is a bit more naughty xD

Hmmm, you're the second person now to suggest I stream NMS... I might just start doing that =) I just always think that no one is going to spend their time watching me play a game...

Oh oh, yes, exactly what I do too, and if you're ever looking for something new to listen to, I highly recommend the "Waking Up" podcast by Sam Harris. He's an intellectual juggernaut.

Oooo, now I'm intrigued and suddenly have the desire to get a profile on Smoke. /Looks into it/

I kinda went silence 😂

Elaborate? ^^' Ahaha

Usually, I always had a thing to say or to comment. But who gives a shit about a "my opinion is so important", right? While you transformed as a heavy consumer to becoming a more content creator. I started to share more condensed and find it hard to makes a comment. Since all the shit that i could or would say was: nice post.

Thank you

Absolutely stunning colours and Super beautiful capture! magnificent clear shot. love your painting, I loves it's sooooo cute! I love how colorful it is!

Thank you @ykdesign! :) I am glad you found this little knickknack cute, hehe

Hi @m31!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.228 which ranks you at #767 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 46.42% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66