Growth

in #watercolor6 years ago


Watercolor - seedling, process of growth

A while ago some of the Steemians were cheering about one million accounts created on the Steem blockchain. Hype was real until people began poking around and looking under the hood a bit. Spam accounts, endless list of bots, alt account abusers, scammers, inactive users, powered down and out users. Yet user retention does not seem to be one of the top priorities? All is well while the money making machine is functioning.

Somehow the words I heard some time ago while in corporate world come to mind -  those who wish to leave, will leave anyway. Perhaps there is truth in there or perhaps no one ever asked or cared why. Maybe even knew why, yet no action was taken to change anything.

Gandhi said “Be the change you wish to see in the world.” It is not all hopeless. There are individuals out there who hustle, grind and power up every day, no matter the Steem price or upvotes. It is not easy, it requires sacrifices and a lot of work to grow in this environment, especially since one barely gets noticed in the sea of absolute crap, nonsense and abusers. These individuals who keep going, power up and help others to do the same are often taken for granted and undervalued themselves. That does not stop them though. My absolute respect to you all! You are awesome! Please, be careful of burnouts.

It is not about playing favorites. It is about the idea of individuals growing, powering up and then being able to help even more people. Understanding that when one supports someone, they are hopefully supporting many more down the line. Each of you have the power to impact many lives, your own potential future and potential future of Steem.



You have special super power, you have Steem Power! Keep steeming, have fun, be tireless, engage with people and spread some positivity, power up and don’t be shy to use your power on people you think will do the same! This is important and something we all can do, I think.



Song of the day: Moby - One of These Mornings  
Sort:  

Thank you m31, that is exactly what should be done. Grow and help others to grow.

Temptation of cashing out is high for lot of people out there. If Steem is to moon one day, they will be very disappointed that they traded a house for sneakers or pizza. While we wait for the moon, we can help empower others.

Understanding that when one supports someone, they are hopefully supporting many more down the line. Each of you have the power to impact many lives, your own potential future and potential future of Steem.

I suppose I have never thought of this part before. It feels good to think about it. Of course it doesn't work if those people I upvote just power down at maximum speed and leave, but that's why I try not to support people who I think are doing that unless there are extenuating circumstances.

It would be cool to be able to see a "family tree" of your votes. Look at every vote you've given someone, and every vote they gave out 7 days after that, and so on and so forth... that would be really cool to see, but I think it might become a computational nightmare after only a few "generations" :)

We can't expect that everyone will be here for long run, but we can focus on those that appear to be here for community and long run. We also can help others understand the value and impact of having Steem Power.

Oh I would love to see that. Steemreports give you idea of who we upvote most. Too bad they only go back 31 days now. They used to have all data since the beginning.

This vision of the Steemit system is exactly why I make sure to read your content and upvote it even when I don't have time to get to anyone else (like these last few weeks).

You are an inspiration to me and I'm sure many others, as an artist and a person. Your realness shines through.

And Moby! =) ... I used to listen to "Porcelain" A LOT, and Natural Blues is very nice too, plus it has a powerful video.

Aww, Thank you @mandelsage! Not sure if I am worthy of your kindness and precious time. I appreciate it a lot though.

I have quite a bunch of people I look up to as well and they have helped me to shape my vision of this place and learning about things I otherwise wouldn't without them. I consider myself lucky in many aspects. I can only hope others find something useful or interesting here sometimes :) I also hope I can help someone, even if a tiny bit.

Oh Natural Blues is amazing! ^^

Nice post there and love your art as usual. Very true, I don't get half as many good votes as I'd like, but am growing slowly to that point where my votes will start meaning something to someone else. It is hard, but so worth it. Hope you're well?

Thank you for taking your time to comment @petesays :)

With determination and work you will make it happen. It just appears easy at the first glance, but it absolutely isn't. It might get easier over time though.

All is well, thank you. Hope everything is well with you too?

Thank you for kind words and encouragement M. Alive and kicking here, one foot in front of the other

Hi m31. Very well said. Power up and keep Steeming.

Thanks :)

That's a real pretty painting.

Thank you. It is a little bit different than others, no outlines and no dots :)

You got a 30.17% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49