Goofy googly dragon

in #watercolor6 years ago



Watercolor/ink - Goofy googly dragon


The plan was to paint this pissed off watercolor dragon head with some Eastern features such as the whiskers, but nothing ever goes according to the plan, does it now? This goofy dragon just wished to give humans a good laugh. I mean, look at those eyes!

Normally when something doesn’t seem to go according to the plan, I simply stop or do over from scratch. However, that approach is very frustrating, tiring and often leads to giving up completely. Which is why for the past year I’ve been pushing myself to keep going and see what unexpected places it can lead.

Sometimes those awkward stages where it appears as a complete toss are crucial for successful end result. Well, at least to a result where I don’t want to toss it anymore. It requires some patience and figuring out how to move forward or where to stop completely. Somehow there always comes the point where something is missing or either this will ruin it completely or will be exactly what is needed. Just be brave. Just do it.

Stopping part isn’t the easiest either sometimes. Staring at every, tiniest detail and deciding whether it needs some more work. It is hard to see sometimes and I need to leave it for hour or two and come back later or take photographs. Twist it and turn it from every angle. Just to see better. It isn’t even what you will see, but how I see it and what I want to see. My silly vision. Though I am a little curious of what you see too.







Song of the day: Matt Corby - Trick of the Light 

Sort:  

ah man... I'm seeing this way too late... but I HAVE to updoot this!

Hi m31. It looks like it is in 3d. It is coming of the paper as you have got the depth and shade on the side spot on. Really good and is his character name now Goofy to go along with Lily?

Hi @cryptoandcoffee! Aw thank you :) I am still learning how to create the depth and always feel that it is the area for improvement.

Goofy has never met Lily yet, but maybe one day on her adventures she will. She only hangs around with Blueberry sometimes for some forest berry tea.

Hi m31. One of these days you will have enough paintings to do a children's book. The depth you are worrying about is obviously improving because I think it is spot on.

Thank you so much! ^^ Lily the curious hedgehog illustrated children's book would be nice. The more I think about it the more I want it to happen :)

Well, this is what I'm seeing. With the coloring of this dragon, I believe it to be an amphibious dragon, you appear to have caught it swimming and hunting for its next meal. It looks quite efficent and set in on its task at hand!

Thank you for stopping by @prlndra! It is very possible that Goofy indeed is amphibious and on a hunt. As I was painting kept imagining how the rest of his body could look like and indeed I see no wings, but more a body of a snake or an eel.

What you call googly I see as water moving over him! Its the perfect effect espically using watercolors!

Hey that second to last angle does make it kind of pissed off. The first kind of looks like it is mischievous.

You could say it's wavy because it's in a reflection or appearing blurry as a cloud too hmm. Neat.

Hey! Thank you! ^^ That second to last one really cracked me up once I looked through the shots I had taken. Sometimes angles really make all the difference.

As a cloud aww. Now that I look at it, I did not see it before that way, but now that you said it, I see it. I think :)

god blesssss!!
This is really nice. I like the subtle texturing and theblue color gradated hue.
Very handsome dragon.

Thank you @ykdesign! Before keep going kicked in I had my doubts and almost discarded it as it wasn't exactly what I had envisioned, but I am glad I pushed through and ignored my doubts :)

wonderful joy!

Well you know what I think. I love your stuff, just wish you'd do more. How about a whole dragon in full color? Good work should never be rushed. Look at what pressure did to Pollock

Thank you for your kindness @petesays :) I would love to do a full color, whole dragon next since I find these creatures allow so much room for imagination, different elements and worlds. There is simply no way to go wrong about them.

Absolutely. Rushing does not work anyway :)

Always a pleasure M. I'm being the silent but not so silent critic loving your work and encouraging you to go further because you have what it takes.

I like it! And honestly, he does look quite angry... So maybe a little goofy because he knows he's angry about something silly, but still angry! (?) ... =)

Something I just pictured which might be awesome to do...Him and the rest of his body flying through space...

It's really good to see another painting from you ^^

Thank you @mandelsage! ^^ I guess even dragons get upset about silly things sometimes. Maybe he forgot where he placed his glasses or someone put too much sugar in his tea. Haha!

Space dragon! Ah, I love dragons. They fit in every environment and every world imaginable.

I should paint more often, but it's been a bit busy times with other things for a past month.

Yeesss, space dragons! You really should do it! I'm imagining his body as similar to the luck dragon from The Never Ending Story ;)

Yes, I've noticed, you've been all over the place with travels and your garden.. That's good too, to do different things...

The eyes remind me of Bugs Bunny...lool

Bugs Bunny running away, with ears flopping backwards and those big eyes. Ahaha!

I create a blue dragon, it looks very interesting I would like to see more of your paintings

Thank you :) I guess it did not turn out as one of the typical dragons, hehe.

How interesting, but what color could we say it is? It is intriguing because you can see even touches of violet. Follow with your art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85