Burn to ashes

in #watercolor6 years ago

Watercolor fairyland - yes, this is my original art


Curating manually involves a lot of scrolling through tags. Sometimes hours and hours to find quality, undervalued posts. It has really began to bother me how difficult it is to find true treasure between piles and piles of trash. Spammed by multiple accounts - look at this amazing artist’s work. Title and one photo shitposts.

There is almost no effort from these users who just copy and paste things they find on the web or let’s say, they maybe took a photo of a dog, tagged it art and posted it on Steemit.

How much effort real artists put into creating their pieces of art? Then finding time, energy and words to post it on Steemit? They sometimes go unnoticed due to shitposters flooding the feed and upvoting themselves for their, obviously, hard work.

There is nothing wrong with showcasing beautiful art, don’t get me wrong, but Steemit is platform you potentially can earn from. Taking someone else’s work adding their name or sometimes source doesn’t make it right to earn from it. Therefore all these kinds of posts should be burned to ashes.

I am so grateful for all the work @steemcleaners are doing on the platform. They deserve more support and all our help to keep Steemit clean.



Song of the day: M83 - Holograms
Thought of the day: Guiding lights
Tiny happiness of the day: Avocados
 

Sort:  

At this stage of my life I spend my days learning and creating. At what point does one stop this? I hope I won't find out.

One day, I hope to start some psychological fires and see what rises from the ashes.

It's become an arms race of sorts between authentic creators and spammers. And curators are in the middle trying to referee. I know for many of you it's a hard and full time job.

And it's appreciated!

Thank you so much for your support @alexander.alexis :)

It is a battle everyday.

Thank you.

I hear you, @m31 and am beginning to get the hang of it. Producing original material and original to Steemit is more rewarding, in every sense.

I've just posted my Close Encounter with a Dangerous cult (a story I've never shared before) and am deeply gratified, after 2 weeks here, to find an appreciate audience for my writing.

I've recently come to realize how much stolen work is actually getting posted on Steemit after I convinced my significant other to start posting her photography on the steem blockchain. I agree that people posting other people's work or posting the simplest iPhone shots as art don't deserve to be rewarded. I think sometimes simple posts without a lot of or even any text should be OK if they include original artwork that did take time and effort to create, but I also understand that's it's very hard to differentiate between the real original ones and the stolen ones too.

Oh, and avocados can indeed be a pretty sturdy source of happiness :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88