So much water!

in #water6 years ago

IMG_20180813_081438346.jpg

Last night when I left for work we had just over 75 gallons of water in the tote. This morning I was going to move it (so I thought) but it was all I could do to pick it up a quarter inch for Sam to slide the dolly under. That's something like 600#. A bit too much for me I guess.

IMG_20180813_081423037.jpg

IMG_20180813_081445337.jpg

It rained all night, so all our auxiliary rain catchers were full. It was a lot of work to get them into the tote, but it doubled our water supply. Now it's been raining all day and they're all full again! I imagine we'll be close to full by the time we get it all gathered.

IMG_20180813_085330376.jpg

Sam and I are going to run some errands and we'll gather water while Melissa cooks supper. It'll be nice to get out in the rain again :)

There's finally a bit of water standing in the north side of the yard, so I'll get out and take pictures later.

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Sort:  

You are not a forklift, that is way too heavy!

It was a bit outside my skillset. Now it's around 2800#, so far in excess of my skillset. Guess it's staying there for a while. We'll probably move it to a tower in the spring when we can afford to empty it with a good chance of quick replenishment. Til then, I'm not counting on another storm.

If you plan on going overhead on a structure anyway, I would just get another one, and put it up high were you want it, and pump this one too it. BTW, you need to paint this plastic, or the sun will break it down fast. :(

Oh yes. Paint is inbound.

The tower will probably be with a new tote as you describe, and it will be in a higher point in the yard to make better use of gravity. We're going to end up with a few of these totes in the yard that'll be fed from different rooflines that already exist on our property.

You are doing some of the same stuff I intend to use. Glad you are painting the totes, it will really help you! Remember that the tote is over a ton on your tower, so brace accordingly! There are some low power pumps that will do the lift you need. Rounded walls will avoid a flat cross section and decrease your wind loading!

Splay the feet out some, for better wind resistance. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83