2. My first luxury watch; ever bought something that made you proud?

in #watches7 years ago (edited)

Hi ladies and gents,

Second post of the day, just because I felt the need to share my first ever luxury watch with you all, and also how it made me feel in some weird type of way.

First of all let me introduce you to the Speedmaster 3510.50 ''reduced'', reduced because instead on the normal 42mm, it's 39mm in diameter. Am totally not going to pretend that the 42mm was a little to large for my wrists, because it was all about the $$$$! The reduced version is a lot cheaper, 1.2-1.7k (euro) on the grey market.

IMG_2578.JPG

I put in on a leather NATO-strap, just to bulk it up a little.

The buying process was super thought out; Ebay, bid, buy! A lot of sellers from Japan on Ebay are selling this watch for some reason (maybe because they also got the tiny wrists like I do)

What did the watch do to me as a person?
This might sound super ridiculous, besides sparking my love for watches, it also gave me the feeling of work paying off. It felt like an accomplishment. I saved for it! All me! Coming back to the love for watches, the watch made me admire the level of finishing and craftsmanship that goes into watches. This of course being a entree level luxury watch, it still was a big deal for me at that time.

IMG_2582.JPG
(this is what you get when you join an Instagram challenge, hanging stuff from palm trees)

Where am I now regarding said passion?
I AM FUCKED! My taste became waaaay too expensive for my wallet, which is also a good thing, because I can't wait for the day I can get that feeling back of buying a watch that I truly earned. I don't wear watches to flaunt, I wear them because I see them as pieces of art (well most, some are just fucking garbage, will also talk about those copying ass companies later on, because those people need to be high-fived in the face with Big Ben). The thing I am trying is to make it my job, social media, and my own watchbrand.

What did this smart guy do with his watch?
I sold it, and drank all the money away on vacation. Maybe I should addition for ''Dumb & Dumber'' to make it ''Dumb, Dumber and Dumberer'' or something. I will one day buy it back.

IMG_2579.JPG
(on this vacation I still had it.....)

To conclude, this watch is an AMAZING first entree level luxury wristwatch, I would recommend it 10/10 for anyone to get it as their first ''big-boy'' timepiece.

So my questions to you, ever bought something that made you proud about yourself? Or what was your first ''big-boy'' watch, or want it to be?

Kind regards,
Ron

Sort:  

You definitely weren't kidding about geeking out. Great post, and I hope you get that time piece back again someday!

Thank you :) yes I am a bit of a geek, but.... there is no but, I just am haha.

Thinking of getting a Seamaster soon

Which one? 007 version? ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55826.71
ETH 2298.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39