Watches and Whisky

in #watches7 years ago

I have started collecting watches last year. It has been a very fun and "costly" hobby for me.

Screen Shot 2017-10-04 at 9.17.01 PM.png

The best part of it is that I get to meet new people and learn something new about yourself or about other things. I will share with you a few things I have learned from collecting watches.

Never get into debt for getting watches.

      Watches are not a necessity in life. It is a form of luxury. Life will go on if you don't have that small thing ticking on your wrist. You have lots of ways to tell the time (Smartphones, computers, and etc.) Though it seems that opportunities are fleeting when collecting, especially when a very rare item comes up in the market for a very reasonable price, it is good to ask yourself the question: 

     Do you really need it?

     The answer, most of the time, to that question is no. Though, as human beings, we tend to rationalize and make sense of our decisions so we are able to cope with it after (if there is a need to).

     Use this hobby to refine your taste and learn to research before purchasing something

    More often than not, we fall into the trap of impulse buying. When I got into watches, the first 4 or 5 were all impulse buys. Below are some of the watches I have bought in the past year and have flipped for either the same amount or with a minimal loss.

18557144_10155251504617567_3106002337467799935_n.jpg

Screen Shot 2017-10-04 at 9.23.27 PM.png

16649201_10154958682797567_3058790574539273801_n.jpg

       Over the course of the past few months, I was able to consolidate my collection and was able determine which are the ones I really like. I will share my current collection in a separate post for everyone's consumption. So, stay tuned!

Enjoy whatever watch (or anything else) you decide on getting.

       At the end of the day, these are material objects. There is no point buying and and trying to keep them in pristine condition. Though, I always try to be very careful with my watches. I can never avoid those unexpected minor scratches or even big ones but I realized that these "battle scars" add my personality in the watch. Therefore, creating this unique bond between you and your watch through the memories (mishaps and triumphs) you went through while wearing a specific one.

It has been good sharing these with all of you and I hope you enjoyed reading.

I have included below a photo of my latest purchase, a limited edition Seiko Blue Lagoon Samurai, when I wore it at a whisky tasting event. Cheers!!!

Screen Shot 2017-10-04 at 9.16.18 PM.png

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @micgacusan! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thanks @newsteemians, I really appreciate that. Looking forward to experiencing this community with you.

Nice to meet you, @micgacusan! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)

Good to know you find joy in your collection. More sharing about watches too! and welcome to Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68218.35
ETH 2640.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69