Wastewater life...

in #wastewater7 years ago (edited)

So I spent 20+ years working in the wastewater industry, mostly in Boise, ID.

The first picture was taken while cleaning an inverted siphon sewer line. I was just standing there waiting to give the signal to the truck operator. You learn to not turn your back to oncoming traffic ;)
Oh, and this manhole is over 20 feet deep with no ladder, so watch your step!
IMAG1042.jpg

This picture is of Sam, one of the best co-workers ever!
This confined space entry turned out to be one of the most dangerous I had ever seen during my career.
The oxygen meter went from it's normal reading of 20.9% down to 12% in a very short time, even with constant fresh air ventilation.
We pulled him out of the manhole so fast, he had no Idea what happened. Safety first!!!
IMAG0013.jpg

If you ever wanted to know what it looks like while cleaning a sewer line with a high pressure hydrojetter, well, here you go... This was a bad grease line, and had to be cleaned on a regular schedule or it would back up and cause a real mess.
IMAG1338.jpg

When you see green paint markings on the streets, alleyways, sidewalks, or yards, it means that there is a sewer line buried under the ground. While locating one day, I painted this smiley face in one of the manhole lids. I thought it was funny and would make people smile... My boss, however, didn't see it the same way, lol. I think I got a pretty stern talking to.
IMAG0147.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this little glimpse into the "Wastewater World"
Please let me know what you think, upvotes and/or comments are much appreciated, thanks!
Robert

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66216.02
ETH 3547.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01