I paint plastic toy soldiers! #6

in #warhammer7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I showed you the first ever minis I've painted. If you want to see what they look like you can click here. The miniatures were from the Warhammer Fantasy Warriors of Chaos range. Today I'll continue with the same Chaos themed miniatures but these are from a commission I did a bit later on. These Blight Knights were just released when a client of mine bought them and gave them to me to paint. They are great plastic sculpts coming 10 in a box I believe. All of them are quite unique with dynamic poses. 


  

Chaos Blight Knights




This is a character called Gutrot Spume. He's a separate kit from the Blight Knights but came out together with them. Kind of like the leader of  the command. All of these models have some mutations caused by the influence of Chaos unlike the warriors I've shown yesterday that look a bit more human like. 




I used a technique that I mastered back in the day to help me paint faster. I used two sprays - black and red in this case and then dry brushed some value colours to build highlights. After I've done that I used glazes on top to have this effect where all the dry brushed colours pop up from underneath. It makes smooth and interesting transitions - all you need is a bit of knowledge about colours. The double spraying makes the shading to be more natural. 




No my photoshop skills were never good.. and I did these a long while ago. Have no idea why that weird white shapes appeared in the background. Used to upload the photos to facebook at the time to all my  75 fans.. so I didn't really do much on the photos.





I used metallic metals here still. Only started doing non-metallics after I arrived in the UK and started painting more for myself. With the technique I used it was very easy to do good rusty looking metals. Specially when I use red spray as a base. I used some blue/green washes to add some effects on the metal plates as well.

  

Sort:  

Sick minis. I wish to you and to me to find out how to use lighting for photos :D
Maybe one day...

Haha I will be buying a professional camera next month so I’ll sort that out. These are old photos though.. from a few years ago with pretty bad light so yeah..

very cool,
is that your work?

Thank you! It is my work, yes. All the miniatures I post about are either things I've done in the past as these or miniatures I paint at the moment. :)

awesome work @george-topalov
as my appreciation for your work hard I've voted yours

Dang these are cool! Had to give you a follow :D

Thank you very much! Glad you liked them! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79