USMC: My Career, An IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #war7 years ago

IMG_0378.PNG

As I continue my journey through STEEMIT, trying to focus in on what it is I can add to the community, many things cross my mind. What is it that people would like to read, what is it that I have to offer to the community, in the form of posts, and how best can I both express myself and gain more followers and upvotes, among other factors. Naturally I think of the things we would have in common but often times I find it is the stories that we hear that are foreign in some eay that draw us in, that bring us into the life of another, and which makes you want to read more. Maybe that is just me. But in thinking about how best to blog here on STEEMIT I can't help but consider everything I am and what has made me the person I am and I am many things all at once as we all are. At once I am a Nurse five days a week, a Father seven days, Husband every minute and yet still a Marine through and through. This first post is dedicated to the man in the picture, my Combat Instructor, Staff Sergeant Anthony Goodwin, who was killed in action in Iraq during Operation Iraqi Freedom as an Infantry Platoon Sergeant.

Most Marines after Boot Camp say it was one of their Drill Instructors (not Drill Sergeants, that's the Army) who made them into the Marine they became but for me this wasn't the case. For me it was this man who, to me, was everything that embodied the United States Marine Corps. He was a square-jawed Jarhead who smoked Marlboro "Reds" and who I stayed up with, along with a half-dozen other Marines, listening to stories of past deployments to the Persian Gulf duding the first Iraq War. We sat around wide-eyed and naive, soaking up stories of burning oil fields and Middle Eastern heat. After three months of boot camp on Parris Island, SC, and another month patrolling Camp Geiger, NC, I wanted to get a taste of the real Marine Corps, not the stuff we saw in movies and Sgt. Goodwin, at the time, was everything I wanted to be, he was in fact everything every Marine should want to be; rough, tough, foul-mouthed, squared away, able to sleep in a minute and ready to be awake in a second. It seemed like no one I ever came across was the Marine that Sgt. Goodwin was.

We all wore the uniform, we all had the same haircuts and spoke the same way but this was a man who inspired. I was not going into the Infantry but the Air Wing as a Helicopter Crew Chief/Door Gunner for the CH53E "Super Stallion", the largest helicopter in the US Military but he made me want to give up my future Flight Wings for a full combat load and an M16A2 service rifle. He made me want to jump in the mud and crawl under barbed wire as live rounds fired overhead. I looked up to him in a way I had not looked up to anyone else before and thought he was by far the best Marine I had ever come across, the type characters in movies are based on, and in fact, years after I was discharged he was immortalized through an episode on the History Channel dedicated to his memory. An episode where he led a platoon into a mission that would take his life.

While in Combat Training AKA MCT each Marine was trained to become a Rifleman, putting us ahead of all other branches, as anyone from a Grunt to a Cook was trained to kill, trained to know how to hit a target 500m away and shoot moving targets while wearing a gas mask. Trained to go through night infiltration courses where the light, or lack of light, of the moon was our only source of tangible visibility . Everything else was instinct, beaten into us through repetition during Boot Camp where daily, non-stop, Drill taught us to walk as one, to cover our bodies behind one another and align each other with the recruits at our side, marching with one single foot step indistinguishable from another. What we did not know then was we were being taught not to march in a tight formation but to learn how to not expose our bodies to enemy gunfire from the front and to be aware of any weakness at our flanks. It is this that leads civilians to think every Marine is the same and they wouldn't be wrong, but not all Marines are created equal.

We had recruits from New York like me, from the City and the Suburbs and from Georgia, West Virginia and the Carolinas. We were 18, we were 25, we were 32 and from all walks of life, each race being represented not as White, Black, Asian or Hispanic but Light Green, Dark Green and all shades of Green and in fact it was true. Any racism that people may have had at first turned into the purest form of brotherhood I have ever known and each of us would die for another, and this was just Boot Camp. By MCT we had built bonds that could never be broken and when not on base or when on leave we understood what that saying meant; "Semper Fi", Semper Fidelis, Always Faithful, we were. It did not matter if you were six months in or a Veteran from the Korean War, we were Marines and we were the same. It was and is really something special. A shared experience that no one, not unless you wore the Uniform, can ever understand or appreciate.

Sitting around a small fire during the heat and humidity of the North Carolina Summer we sat and listened to our Sergeant talk in that "Marine Voice" that inspired greatness in others. The grit that says "I have shot my service rifle and I have hit my target before he hit me"...Instant respect. I found that over the days and weeks the group of a dozen became eight, then five and then there was a night when it was just he and I as everyone else was asleep after a hard days training and he borrowed a cigarette as we talked. He borrowed all my cigarettes in fact because, well, Sergeants don't buy things in the field when commanding platoons and squads of Privates, PFC's and LCpl's, which is what I was after getting a promotion for having been in college and another for receiving a Meritorious Promotion during Boot Camp. We just sat on logs across from each other "shooting the shit" and as the number of Marines dwindled down to just he and I we began a bond that would never die. He told me about his wife and kids, about his business that he operated when he wasn't a hard-charging Marine Corps Sergeant and about the Bachelor degree he earned in American History while serving. I told him about my college experience, at that point a single semester before 9/11 when I gave up my Athletic and Academic Scholarship to Enlist. I was 18 and we both knew what was coming down the pipe, a foreign war where we knew we would lose friends and maybe our lives. We also agreed that if it wasn't for us Marines 9/11 would be 24/7. We had immense pride in our jobs and you will not meet another Marine who is not proud to have earned the title.

IMG_0379.PNG

As this is an introduction there will be many more stories to come but I wanted to start this one off In Memorium to the finest Marine I ever knew and a Man I still admire and respect and sometimes cry thinking about. He was and is an American Hero, the type you only dream of becoming but are too scared to, for fear of the effects of war. That stereotypical shell shocked Marine that comes back a paranoid drunk destroyed by the horrors of death by his own hands and the struggle to maintain your morality and continue living. But Staff Sergeant was no weak man and trained me to fight in a fire team, to throw grenades, to fire a breach loaded M203 and fire the heavy machine gun M240G. He taught me how much pain I could take as my feet burned and back killed me during those humps and, watching the strength in his face as he did what I did, made me suck up the pain and swallow it into pride. Esprit de Corps. The Pride of Belonging. I can't replace the experiences I had that month with anything comparable and wouldn't want to, even as knowing he is dead hurts me so badly, because he taught me what it was I wanted to truly be, not a Marine, but THAT type of Marine. I have met and gotten to know closely many great Marines in my time and he was one of the best. So to start off this set of stories, of my experiences in the USMC, I would like to start it off with the man who motivated me in the beginning to be the routhest and toughest DevilDog I could be, Staff Sergeant Anthony L. Goodwin. Lived in Hell so may he always Rest in Peace. God Bless you Sir, you will never be forgotten and will always be a part of THIS Marine.

IMG_0371.PNG

Sort:  

That was an amazing story, and im sorry that such a great man and leader passed. At least his memory lives on in you

I am sure thousands of Marines and people won't be forgetting him anytime soon. He once, nevermind haha. He was just f*cking awesome. Made you feel like you were looking at a damn movie hero. Just one of those guys tbat is not afraid of living life until you die. And that was knowing him for about a month.

I saw a glimpse of that through your description. Maybe you should write another post or two about him in the future, I think the story was pretty inspiring and really touched on peoples emotions in a good way. I think it helps remind people about the role a leader and a soldier should have, as well as that despite your opinion on whatever wars the armed forces are involved in, at their core they are good people who are willing to give their life to keep their comrades safe.

Absolutely. I always say Politicians start wars and the Military makes sure we dont lose them. As a teenager I knew there was no reason why I shouldn't or wouldn't die to protect the US from terrorism. I live in NY so it was obviously close to home, less than an hour drive to be exact. And as then Sgt Goodwin would say "we aren't in the f*cking Army we are Marines so start acting like it." Soldiers are in the Army. Marines are Marines :)

Thank you for the service that you have given to all of us who love freedom. I am thankful for the price that brave men and women like you pay for it. May all fallen warriors who died serving in the Armed Forces, Rest in Peace.

Thank you for that comment! As most living Veterans will tell you, you dont need to thank us because we came back and are still here. Truly the thanks belong to those Veterans who died and who will never hear those words "Thank you for your service". They are the ones that deserve our respect and thanks. So in their honor thank you for your honest respect :) It means a lot to me when I do hear it because I know my friends, mentors, brothers and sisters in arms did not die in vain but are appreciated still today. God Bless 🇺🇸

I am a Veteran as well and I feel deeply about the truth you speak, May God Bless us indeed!

Thanks for the reply Brother!

Thanks for the story. I hope one day not too far away there would not be more wars and the military units only purpose would be to protect civilians.

I mean, the purpose of the soldiers is to protect civilians, but sometimes the purpose of the orders given to them are not.

Absolutely. There are seldom any more "Just Wars" that are not political or economical in nature. But that does not mean we don't need to stand strong and volunteer to show that we are strong and we can't and won't be pushed around. I always say the purpose of a strong military is to prevent war, to warn others that we will, God Forbid, destory each and every individual who threatens my home and my fellow citizens and especially the innocent like those who died in the terror attacks whether I believe they were false flags or not 😉 But no Veteran dies in vain. They all served whole-heartedly and their rewards are in Heaven as there is a time for Peace and a time for War. They did their job when asked and did it well. Hopefully we can live in peace as long as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99