You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "As you died burning," a Memorial

in #war6 years ago

The images in my head from just reading about the stress in the civilians' lives are hard to make go away. I cannot imagine how you must struggle to cleanse your mind and how emotional concentrating on your art must be.

I look at it and see the burned remains of what had been a home with children who had done nothing to anyone and became victims of a war that makes no sense except evil men.

Surely there is a place where the piece can be displayed!

Sort:  

Thanks for taking the time to read this serious piece, @willymac.
You are absolutely correct in assuming that creating work such as this is emotionally stressful for me, the creator.
Especially for these larger installation works that took months and hundreds of hours to create, it was a very trying time.
Some assume that the creation of this type of work is cathartic, but for me there is no "laying to rest" of these memories/emotions: they are rubbed raw every time I think of them, and the creation of work that has to tap directly into those memories and emotions is like salt on a wound that will never heal.
Still, I feel the burden of sharing these experiences, in the interest of doing what little I can to persuade my fellow human beings to pursue the change the world so sorely needs.
Sadly, this piece most likely exists only in a landfill, just like my paper crane installation.
I desperately wanted to bring it with me, but was left doing a cross country move with no help around, and it weighed over 200 pounds, even when off of the concrete pedastals, and I couldn't get it into the truck, so it got abandoned in a storage locker.
These pictures are all that remain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54691.22
ETH 2323.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12