War & Peace.

in #war6 years ago

War and Peace.

I'd choose Peace over war thousand times, this decision is not born out of the general dictionary understanding of the words "War & Peace" but an indepth understanding of the subject matters through experience which according to an African adage is the greatest teacher.
The experience of war isn't palatable in any way, this is my experience;

About a decade and a half ago, myself and family happened to live in a community in the Southwest part of Nigeria where the community and the neighboring community got into a loggerhead over land acquisition and tribute payments as cherished in that part of the country owing to culture. At a very tender age, a young boy (myself) then who's got almost all he needed around him at almost without a cost, woke to a supposedly blessed day which turned bad, couldn't fine tune what was wrong and how event turned out to be but could understand the directive of his mum and siblings shouting in the mother tongue "Samuel, dide, Ogun ti bere, sho gbo iro ibon?!" (Samuel, get up, war is here, can u here gunshots?), I stood in fear and we had to find our way through a thick forest where as at that time, it was recorded that anyone had pass through before. Moving from place to place in search of the peaceful life we were used to, yet it seems not achievable because everywhere was blocked to disallow entry and exit.
A pathetic story it was, houses burnt, souls lost, properties perished, people were missing, disorderliness in a sane and peaceful community.
It is important to know that war never repairs but spoils irreparably. This community and the other has since then unable to recover from their loss.

When I speak about War, I am in the know.
When I speak about Peace, I know what it is.

I sympathize with families affected by war in every part of the world today and my condolences will forever be with them for their loss.
I pray we continually experience Peace in our world now and beyond.

I am Samuel, and I am an agent of PEACE!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44