Update From Ceci , taken from my DM's on discord.

in #war6 years ago (edited)

This is the most current update I've received from Ceci 6pm today March 16th.

Edited I found another update here from Ceci: https://steemit.com/nicaragua/@phoenixwren/3k84cy-update-from-ceci-in-nicaragua

The last update I saw was here 4 months ago. Relayed by @sultnpapper.

To quote @sultnpapper as I feel the same way and it seems things have not changed.
As most of you know our good friend @cecicastor is living in Nicaragua and the country is falling apart even more each day. The following is a direct message from Ceci I received on discord. I am sharing it here so you can read in her own words what is taking place down there. Please keep her and her family in your prayers if you would.

March 16, 2019 Her Message
@ cecicastor message Today at 6:09 PM (in discord)
An update to what is happening here now. The "negotiations" have been canceled. Ortega doesn't want to discuss anything a day has been stalling since he asked to begin talks again. The people were looking for a sign of good faith and had asked that he release the political prisoners. His half hearted attempt was to beat about 100 prisoners, load them in vans in the middle of the night and drop them at their homes under house arrest. They will be having a day in court soon, where they will be found guilty as charged and sentenced to ridiculous jail terms of 100's of years. Last month two farmers were sent tended to 230 years each.

In response to the breach goodwill, there was a nation wide call to protest today. This is against the new laws enforced by the MIT (Ortega's private goon squad). It would be safe to say that all hell broke out. I can hear the mortars from where I live. And I assume the same is taking place across the country. We have heard reports that an order has been given, approximately 40 minutes ago, that people have 2 hours to vacate the streets under threat of jail or being shot. The way the goon squad has been working, there could be a lot of blood spilt in the streets.

Our day started out with the power and water being shut off at 6:00 am. Everyone is inside until we know it is safe to poke our noses out. We are set for supplies until the end of the month, then we will have to venture out. I am typing this using my off grid power.How long the power will be out is anyone's guess. We hope not as long as Venezuela. We have sufficient water for a while. We have 12500 gallons in reserve tanks.

More information and photos are available on havanatimes.org. The world is in a sad state of affairs. Pray for peace...

I asked if she wanted me to post it for her and she said please she would appreciate it.

I will decline payout. Please send any support directly to her account.

Sort:  

no problem .. so sorry for her.

Thanks for sharing this @rebeccabe. I have been sort of following @cecicastor through you and @sultnpapper. What an awful way to live and given what's happening here, frighteningly close to home in some ways

She is helping people but I wish she could get back to Canada being in the middle of another country's civil war is no place to be.

Howdy rebeccabe! thanks for sending this update, what a sad and tragic and needless situation!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63342.09
ETH 2658.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81