You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Conflict Diamonds? Who cares? Conflict Organs and Sex Slaves is what we need to track

in #war7 years ago

Those are very strong words and your sentiments vivid and fortified by passion.

I can only wonder at what triggered this post on this day of this month and year... but you are absolutely right - that which you describe is indeed evil.

Without need to demonize the perpetrators and customers of such evil acts (as for one party, their actions speak for themselves - while the others wrap themselves in hollow justifications and absolution).

While I'm not sure about DNA being woven into a cryptocurrency - I am more sure about DNA being woven into the blockchain. I absolutely agree that an improvement in the transparent documentation of individuals and their attributes is a correct way forwards.

Thank you again for writing about this.

Sort:  

I write from the hip. Sometimes I gotta spit the flow, or the flow will split me. I cannot countenance the overflow of evil that overwhelms me, and I search for answers, how to reach my personal goal of humanity that forever enjoys each others good company.

Of course you are absolutely correct to point out that the blockchain is the proper vehicle for this. I also am beyond hesitant to craft a tool of tyranny, and it is easy to see many ways such a registry might be used for evil.

There's smarter people in the room than I, as you have here proved, and if I can have a bad idea that leads to your good one, I am fulfilled. Mebbe there's someone that might be able to conceive of a way for this to be ubiquitous, and required to be reported before a transplant can be done, even of spit, that might not be harmful to liberty.

I do know that good people are damn tired of evil destroying children, families, and communities for profit. If we can get a sound plan together, I will give everything I have to cause it to succeed.

Edit: thank you for pointing out that not all customers of transplants are informed participants in harming others. I had, in my outrage, but considered those transplant tourists that can be all but certain to be receiving conflict corpses. It was wrong of me to do, and I am but glad that nothing I proposed to undertake could prevent lawfully obtained transplant material from saving the lives of good people.

It is not my intent in any way. I know that I would not want to receive a transplant from a person killed for their organs, even at the cost of my own life, and I am sure that most would not either. Perhaps more than any other group, those considering transplants should desire to prove the organs they may receive are lawfully obtained.

It is important to strike the iron while its hot. I cannot count the times I've written a Steemit post title only to delete it a few minutes later as the emotion passes. As such I commend you for bringing this to light.

While I appreciate your recognition I cannot accept the insinuation that I am smarter than you. Even if such were so, I have still found that my interactions with you have enriched my thinking.

I fully understand the burning need to do something about the evil in this World - and I quite agree that such is necessary. That being said it is important to proceed steady and without an excess of haste - the probability of success at stake.

Your stated hesitance to craft a tool that could be abused for purposes tyrannical is warranted - as we do live in such a World. As such - the simpler (and not necessarily optimal) path is to track DNA patterns. As people interact with health services for any invasive reason - a DNA sample is also taken - and the event is recorded upon the blockchain - without personal details.

As such, when a person from New York moves around the World and interacts with various health services, the DNA itself is tracked.

Should an organ of undocumented DNA be discovered then the blockchain would reveal this - along with probable sources (DNA proximity) with sufficient evidence upon which to mount an investigation.


This may sound a little cold, but I regard all ages and genders as being equally worthy of freedom and a chance at a happy life. It may be due to my recognizing that children are often (ab)used by media so as to further their opinion-engineering purposes via emotional blackmail.


I was not laying any judgment upon you for your impassioned condemnation of all players in the sad affairs of sex and organ trafficking. Sometimes being biased is a good thing - as it motivates action.

Yes, some clients are unaware - while others are blinded by fear and/ or selfishness (often with a dose of ignorance either of perspective or a blissful unawareness).

I would suggest that even those who would be condemned for actions taken bear a closer look. Sometimes things are not all that they seem - and as one who believes that we all share the same roots, regardless of how inconvenient such may occasionally seem - my personal focus is upon correction.

"As such, when a person from New York moves around the World and interacts with various health services, the DNA itself is tracked. Should an organ of undocumented DNA be discovered then the blockchain would reveal this - along with probable sources (DNA proximity) with sufficient evidence upon which to mount an investigation."

This would necessitate the identification of the person, and therefore the DNA would need to be linked to personal data. There seems no way around this.

Another issue is that DNA can be used to attack computers. DNA can be crafted so that computers analyzing it are infected with malware, as unlikely as this seems. This may not be hard to prevent, but I cannot myself consider how this might be achieved. I am not competent.

Neither can I think of a way that a publicly auditable blockchain might be prevented from being abused by any number of entities.

I agree that punitive intent is pointless. Rather the prevention of harm is what I seek.

Thanks!

I am not sure if I explained my thought on this well enough. :c)

Imagine a blockchain thread of information that is not linked to your name or your ID but to your DNA.

Furthermore that information is not at any point linked to the person.

If you have a procedure where you gain a kidney, on the blockchain, there is a link between your DNA and the other person's DNA - and that's it. There is 'point-of-contact' and your non-blockchain medical history will (probably) still indicate that you had a transplant - but your blockchain self is considered separately from yourself.

This promotes transparent access to and processing of data on the blockchain - without compromising personal data. Or at least - its as near to such a situation as I can presently envision.


As for computers being infected by [insert file-type here] - once upon a time it was images, then it was flash files. Now it seems to be DNA. These are exploits that are either not envisioned - or deliberately designed into systems (Y2K).

Its only a matter of time before a blockchain AI virus comes to be. 'WZ2100 Nexus' anyone? ;c)


In any case - this is the problem with following through with accountable transparency as a data policy. It inherently crosses privacy.

Thank you again for the insights - and stop knocking yourself on the blockchain. :cP

"This promotes transparent access to and processing of data on the blockchain - without compromising personal data. Or at least - its as near to such a situation as I can presently envision."

What I was alluding to earlier was that absent information regarding the identity of the donor of the material, such a record would not prevent organ theft/murder. Since all of us can be donors, all our identities would be necessarily included. Absent identifying information, and public auditability, I cannot see how such a system might pose a hazard to illegally obtained material, and those that purvey it.

I don't reckon I am knocking myself if I simply acknowledge my limitations. I consider that a feature, not a flaw =p

The idea is that if a person to receive a transplant, and the DNA of the organ itself can be traced to a particular location - as the DNA itself has a history - then it would be far more difficult to pass off conflict organs as legitimate.

Why? Because from birth there would be information about such organs - and in the absence of such - or in the event that the data indicates overlap with potential risk factors - such as presence in a conflict zone - then flags are raised.

In the event of genuine donors in conflict zones - I am sure that appropriate seals of approval can bridge the gap.

Of course - at contact with the medical system - the person is associated with a DNA blockchain - through his or her DNA. But its as disassociated as one can be - I reckon.

And glad to hear you're not knocking yourself. Feature noted. ;c)

I am willing to try any reasonably promising effort at providing provenance of transplant material, or identity of the trafficked, that provides assurance such a registry won't be used to augment the surveillance state.

I reckon that public auditability and identification are features of the idea that aren't easily dismissed, and that 'seals of approval' are assurances of expropriation and perversion of any public service by forces of corruption.

I have little familiarity with extant mechanisms, that I am sure must exist, to assure provenance of transplant material, but am certain they have failed, and that they involve such 'seals of approval'.

It is the auditability of the blockchain by the public that provides any assurance of integrity. I cannot overstate my cynicism regarding integrity of government, or any other authority. I have direct personal experience with my HIPAA data being provided to nefarious parties.

I cannot trust any attestation of integrity. The integrity of such a system is only potential insofar as it is publicly auditable, IMHO.

"philanthropathic"

LOL I can always tell when I'm pissed, cuz I start making up my own words =p

One does not throw stones in glass houses and thus I shall not. ;c)

Sybil defense. ;cP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59604.53
ETH 2413.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43