You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The South African Border War - Operation Sceptic (Smokeshell)

in #war7 years ago

Another interesting article, thanks @gavvet. I would be interesting to know why the guys called it "Sceptic" or "Smokeshell"?

Interesting enough, by dad was actually assigned to anti air defence on the 55mm canons in the years just before 1980. I was born 1981 so I'm glad my dad was out of the war zone before things got more intense. ;)

Sort:  

simple code names

So they basically used the first name that jumped to mind. I thought the names would have described something within the context of the situation, like a sceptic person in the South African ranks or maybe on the other side. I guess people make up all sort of stories. ;)

Nah, I'm pretty sure the codenames are selected as randomly as possible (or at least randomly from a preset list) because they want to avoid using (even by subconscious chance) a codename the enemy can use to predict what they're really up to.

otherwise you would not born yet ahahaha lol.. am joking.. glad your dad is got safe from that war.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 60880.00
ETH 2626.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57