You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Is The Situation In Syria So "Normal"? Are We Living In Two Different Worlds?

in #war6 years ago

The abnormal is becoming the norm. We are bombarded daily with news that the world is in crisis. We have become desensitised. It happening somewhere else. Not in my backyard. But someday it will be in our back yard and we will be scratching our heads wondering when did this all happen?

Sort:  

Hi @cecicastor. That's another great point that you make. Desensitisation through cinema and constant bombardment. How could this not play a role?

Conflict in the middle east? Yawn
Gas attacks? Yawn
Civilians killed by a van driven down a pedestrian mall? Yawn

What don't we yawn about? Sporting teams? I'm not sure. Even politics I think people have disengaged from. I really don't want to be one of those "in my day" type people because... well... yawn but I'm thinking it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87