You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gladys' WW1 sacrifice remembered - a poppy's journey

in #war6 years ago

I've read the first part of Tim's post and it sure did give me insight into what they world war was about. I have never really been so into history mostly because most of them seem overwhelming and boring when I read them but Tim's was sure a great read. I will try and make out time to go read the other parts.

It is so sad what happened to Gladys while she was out there serving the people in such a big way. She died so young, brutally murdered yet she served so greatly, surrendering her life to service.

Glad to see that you are making efforts in remembering these heroes. That poppy isn't only beautiful, it holds a great story of a great woman and the little connection you both share. I am so glad that you were able to receive it this year..

Sort:  

Thank you so much for those kind words, @audreybits, and I'm really glad that Tim's post was helpful to you. He finished his last post (aptly entitled The Last Post) yesterday.

I agree with you that what happened to Gladys and the others was terribly sad.

The British Legion has done us all a great service by choosing to honour women who died in service and to name them for us. I've never worn a piece of jewellery which is as symbolic as this one, and I've enjoyed the feeling of honouring Gladys. Have a look at my sub-sub-response to @jocqua above. Thanks to friends I've now learned that Gladys had a brother who was killed at Vimy, and that recently an opera was made about the sinking of the Llandovery Castle (yes, an opera - I'm still trying to get my head around that). Think it's time to send this story to the British Legion so they know.

But mostly - THANK YOU for sharing your thoughts and reflections.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62827.81
ETH 2583.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73