MOUNTAINS

in #wanderlust7 years ago (edited)

My father planted the seed for wanderlust and the dream of experiencing new places. He had spent some time climbing a few mountains in the Philippines when I was small.

I marveled at the lushness of the forests in the photos my father brought back from his trips:

1511290_10152852270997751_5617869050333707595_n.jpg

I had asked him once to take me with when I was old enough, but life had other plans.

The nursing shortage hit the USA pretty hard, and my mother was lucky enough to be hired by a great company. They paid for the entire family to make the move far from everybody else we knew, and so far from the old life we had. We came to Minnesota with just a few items of clothing and some of our most cherished mementos. I had a daughter shortly after and was dedicated to bettering myself for both our futures. I studied to become a nurse because what else do Filipinos do? (LOL, JK)

I forgot about mountains for a long time.

I was working a couple of shifts each week so I could get through nursing school and I didn't have a lot of money to spend.
tumblr_mhts0vYEsV1qdf107o1_r1_1280.jpg

@ghostfish and I met when my daughter was 4. He had already been listening to the siren song of the wild.

He often went on trips to climb mountains with his childhood buddy, and showing me photos as my dad had done. I was eventually able to get a job that paid decently, and saved enough money to visit his old friends in Washington state.

My tempestuous love (hate) affair with elevation started on the Glacier Basin trail, on Mount Rainier.
It was an easy enough hike, but I was a sedentary couch potato for years and I also suffered from asthma.

tumblr_nxdrkb53mK1qdf107o3_1280 (1).jpg
(Pictured: Bb couch potato trying her best to hike up a mountain)

tumblr_nxdrkb53mK1qdf107o1_1280.jpg

tumblr_nxdrkb53mK1qdf107o2_1280.jpg

It was always the lure of mountains that called @ghostfish time and time again, so I wanted to follow. It ended up being 7-mile roundtrip hike up to Glacier Basin and a few hundred feet beyond on Mt. Rainier or 6,300 ft.(2,000 vert. )

I was tired as hell and my lungs ached but it was exhilarating.

I never understood why people would push themselves to exhaustion and put themselves in danger for this, but now I do. The view brought me to tears.

I understand it all now, and I never want to forget.

IMG_2876.JPG
(Mt. Elbert @ 12,500 ft, 2017)

Sort:  

I love mountains!

Beautifully written. Let's go climb another!!

Hell yes. I’ll go anywhere with you! ❤️

how cool!!!
you are a pinay!!! :)
ayos!!
I've been living here in the philippines for almost 8 years now!
have you been to philippines lately?

Hahaha! Ayos, pare ko! That’s pretty awesome! I miss the motherland. @ghostfish and I went for a visit back in 2009. How do you like it so far?

Wow you should come back soon because Philippines has changed A LOT! haha :D
feels like home for me :)
been here for 8 years and I actually love it.

Yeah I totally miss it! I miss the island girl life and island time. Haha.Do you ever miss your motherland too? I hear there was some turmoil going on. If you have family there, I hope they are doing ok.

Well I do miss it back in Iran but I sort of grew up here in ph , I came here when i was 16.
Yeah I heard about it, It was a small group of angry people not being happy about the economy and stuff and it got out of control.
but i hear things are getting calm back in Iran.
Thank you for the concern tho :)

Mr.@velveteendream @ghostfish
I appreciate your bravery in climbing on mountains and your father support.

Thank you! I’m afraid of a lot of things so overcoming heights was a huge step for me. :)

Very awesome! Great photos, thank you for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 68237.15
ETH 3499.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72