How To Find Your Lost Komodo (KMD) Funds!

in #wallet7 years ago (edited)

enter image description here

Komodo ICO

Several years ago I participated in the Komodo ICO. I was awarded some tokens and they lived on the Komodo ICO site. Recently, I saw the team had developed a new wallet and I wanted to move my funds there.

I downloaded the Komodo wallet and my KMD balance was shown. Over the next several months, I would claim interest balances Komodo pays dividends). I would claim them and not think to much about it. Sometimes, I'd have to download the blockchain over again because the database would get corrupted. This happened about 4 or 5 times. It would take over 24 hours to download it again. (Later I learned it was not necessary to run in Native mode, run in SPV mode instead).

Was I hacked Or Not?

The other day I was looking at the wallet and noticed my balance was zero. Zero, are you kidding me? What happened? I had not spent or sent any KMD to another address. I immediately thought I was hacked. I noticed that I had a few transactions that had different addresses. These addresses were different that main address listed at the top of the wallet.

I started searching for a resolution on Google and within the Komodo Slack and Telegram groups. I found a few articles, but nothing resolved my issue. I reached out to JL777, the lead developer of Komodo ,and he confirmed the two addresses and the transactions associated with them were indeed claim transactions. I felt a bit relieved, however, I still could not find the balances.

Native Mode Changes Address on Interest Claims

As it turns out, when using the KMD wallet in native mode and you claim an interest payment, you may be given a new address. Luckily, I read that you must back up your wallet.dat file often. I had done so many times, therefore I had many wallet.dat files.

#####Note: If running in native mode, backup your wallet.dat files often!

In discussing the issue with JL777, he stated that I didn't need to run in native mode, the SPV mode would be sufficient and I would not need to download the blockchain. He also told me if I ran a couple of CLI commands I could determine if the funds were truly lost.

To find if you control an address run the following CLI command:

validateaddress  [address]

If it returns

ismine:true

then you are the owner of that particular account. Now I owned the account for my original KMD address, but not the address where the funds now resided.

So, where are the funds? IDK

enter image description here

The Backups Saved Me

I gathered all the backup wallet.dat files and put them in a folder. I remember seeing a option under settings called Wallet Keys. I tried that and I discovered that it will show you a list of all the keys (KMD addresses) that a wallet.dat file controls.

I continued to replace the wallet.dat file with a backup until I found the key that match the KMD address that my funds were sent to. I took the key next to it that started with an 'UXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX'. I learned from a video by PTYX, that this key is your WIF (Wallet Import Format) address that can be used to log into a wallet when using SPV mode.

I Found The Funds

After logging in, I found my missing balance. I was overjoyed. I thank Jesus for helping me to find it with assistance from JL777 and PTYX.

I hope my experience can help someone else, in the case they experience the same.

Thanks @pairmike


Support Me By Shopping at Amazon

Sort:  

On youtube and type(How To Fnd Your Lost Komodo (KMD) Funds!)youtube guid you and solve your problem dear dont worry...

Komodo's bite hard and as they do not clean their teeth?, have very infectious bites!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85