Is Coinbase a secure place to store my Ethereum?

in #wallet7 years ago

No. They may have great security in place but they’re still a centralized exchange and store all the private keys in a database. This makes them vulnerable to hackers, especially since they have millions stored in their wallets.

I can’t predict if they will get hacked, but there is always a possibility. I have seen a couple of posts on people losing money on coinbase.

Use MyEtherWallet.com which is the safest wallet, as you store your private keys on your local device and not some server.

The safest way to store ether is through a hardware wallet. I recommend using the ledger nano s or trezor. This is an airgapped device that stores your private keys, and makes it impossible for anyone to access your funds.

Sort:  

They have funds insured there, like a bank. So, yes.

I think everyone is promoting paper wallet for a safer longer storage, while if we are regularly transferring coins probably coinbase is much easier.

I gave you an upvote for your point of view. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.34
ETH 3494.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54