Walk With Me to South Station - A Return to Boston

in #walkwithme7 years ago

It blows me away that just 90 minutes before seeing this -

Boston7.jpg

I was rubbing my eyes and staring out at this -

SecondCamera.jpg

But such is life!

For reasons I hope to share with you soon, I made another trip to Boston today. I'm pretty tired now, but I couldn't resist sharing some pictures from the commute with my Steemit family.

Boston1.jpg

On my last trip to the city, I dove to the Quincy Adams parking garage and then rode Boston's iconic Red Line subway to the heart of the city, at Park Square. This time I spent a little more to park farther away and ride on the Commuter Rail. It's not a bad way to go, and you can nap on the train.

Boston2.jpg

These pictures are from my hike back from Boston Common, through Chinatown, to South Station.

Boston3.jpg

I've found I really love the energy of the rush hour crowds. Sometimes you can catch great pictures completely by accident.

Boston4.jpg

The combination of gritty old buildings and shiny new ones is so compelling.

Boston5.jpg

I might consider renting a bike someday. But honestly, riding the trains is just so much fun. And have you seen Boston drivers? Are you sure you want to bike around them? (Seriously though this seems like a pretty cool service.)

Boston8.jpg

Silly me, I didn't take a picture of the front of the station. But this is one of the first things you see when you emerge. Again, it's hard to take a lousy picture of this skyline.

Boston6.jpg

I walked too fast! Early again, I had to stand around with all the other travelers waiting for their trains to come in.

Boston9.jpg

Plenty of places to eat, though.

Boston0.jpg

So it was only a mile and a half hike today, round trip. But I can see how living in the city keeps people in shape.

Do you have a hike as a part of your daily commute? Do you like walking in the city?

Sort:  

haha i prefer to walk in the woods! I am excited to visit Vancouver this spring though, and see the big huge buildings. Its a novel experience for me since I am from a small town! :P
I just made a post, basically the opposite, walking in the mountains!

I still prefer and support much more the second scenery compared to any Boston!

They both have their charms. That's why I'm so glad to have both in my day!

Thank you, I loved the "walk"!!! There is nothing so fascinating as a peek into "another" life.

I took a vacation to the south east corner of Germany a few months ago (I might have mentioned) and I haven't had so much exercise getting around since I was a poor starving college student without a car! There was a bus and a train that got me in the general area of anywhere I wanted to go but there was a lot of fast walking at times to get from one place all the way to the next on time and carrying or pulling grocery tote(s).

It seems like living out in the boonies pretty much requires that I need to take the car to get anywhere because it's so far away and there isn't enough people for public transport. A car pretty much takes you from doorstep to doorstep. City people can definitely put a few miles under their belts in a day!

YEAH WHY NOT.WALKING IN THE MORNING IS THE BEST GYM FOREVER.IF IT'S ON THE CITY IT'S VERY AMAZING WHEN WE WALK...........IT'S FIT OUR BODY.....................ALSO HAVE MANY IMPORTANT HELPFUL THINGS IN WALK..............

Wow ho Boston looks so beautiful you must have enjoyed alot ...Thanks for sharing in steemit can i download a pic I'll keep as a wallpaper

One of my graphics novels is based in Boston. Needed a lot of Google Street view to get a full look at the city. Man your ghettos...be ghetto I know that. The city scapes are amazing though.
Looks like it was a fun day trip.

Boston is on my short list of places to visit in the near future. Never been, but have wanted to for a long time.

BTW, great photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61911.99
ETH 2585.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56