Walk With Me Through One Of America's Oldest Cemeteries: Sandwich's Old Burial Ground

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)

It's hard to imagine a more bucolic place to spend eternity.

Surrounded on three sides by Shawmee pond, and with views of historic downtown Sandwich, the Old Burial Ground manages a rare combination: being isolated and public at the very same time.

SingleGate.jpg

I came here by chance on this particular day. My real mission was to load up on some restorative drinking water from the public well. But it was a Saturday, and it seemed that lots of other people had the same idea.

BusyWell.jpg

I was in no hurry. The Steemit life is a life of self-directed schedules. So I lit my pipe and took in some of the local sights - you know, those sights tourists come miles to see, but are right in my own backyard. (What's in yours?) For example: here's the historic grist mill, where everyone in town used to bring their corn for grinding.

GristMill.jpg

Gazing across the water I caught sight of the Old Burial Ground. Thought: isn't this a nice day to look at some old stones and contemplate death?

AcrossWater.jpg

So let's put on some Decemberists and go for a walk! Will you come with me?

Entrance.jpg

Now, you European readers may scoff at the idea of antiquity measured in mere centuries (just about four of them, in fact) but here in the "New World" that's about all we've got.

Anyway, it's more than enough. We're a gloomy, frugal people. We can make the most of it.

HouseBehind.jpg

Here's a lovely stone with the angelic death's head used for babies. Poor Mehitabel, who perished in 1769, aged 17 months and 8 days. Every day counts, you guys.

Mehitabel.jpg
Stone walls and dead babies: the purified essence of New England.

It's comforting to think that some part of her spirit perseveres in those mushrooms growing at the foot of her stone.

Of course, the church has its part to play, watching over the scene from half a mile away and doing its best to point departing souls in the right direction.

ChurchBehind2.jpg

As does Hannah T, who, since 1844, has also been pointing skyward.

Pointing.jpg

An aside about that church: Verizon installed a cell-phone tower in the steeple. I guess it brings in some rent to pay for maintenance and such, but, hmm, didn't Jesus kick moneylenders out of his temple? How do you suppose he feels about international telecommunications conglomerates?

ChurchBehind3.jpg

More stone walls, more farmhouses. It must be nice to have quiet neighbors.

HouseBehind2.jpg

Many of the grave markers have been laid on their sides, like tables. I kind of like this idea. But if it were me, I'd want more of a bench, inscribed: sitters welcome, so that visitors could come along and appreciate my view, and through their backsides, I could feel a touch of the living again.

StoneTable.jpg

All cemeteries are rich in story, but this one is positively teeming with it. Check out John and Lucy Bassett.

HouseBehindDouble.jpg

Lucy died at age 40, in 1830. Her husband survived another 36 years, and apparently never re-married. He got to see out the civil war before being buried next to his patient wife.

PondBehind.jpg

Well, it's not all death and gloom here at the cemetery. Shawme pond is a popular place for canoeing and fishing. In the Spring, it's full of swans and other waterfowl raising their young and grabbing snacks from passing tourists. Lots of locals keep their canoes here, ready to go when they're in the mood for a paddle.

Canoe.jpg

And a couple of folks were out fishing today.

Fishermen.jpg

There's a lovely path around the perimeter of the cemetery.

Path.jpg

With lots of points of access to the pond. This one is guarded by the loneliest headstone in the place, right at the very eastern tip of the burial area.

LoneliestStone.jpg

I took some time to enjoy the peace down by the water's edge. Not a house in sight, in this direction.

WaterEdge.jpg

Well, might as well head home. There's no reason to spend the whole day in the cemetery - at least not yet!

FromPond.jpg


Thanks for walking with me through this historic burial ground.

I hope you didn't find it too depressing.

Do you enjoy walking through old cemeteries?

Unless otherwise stated, photography is the work of the author. Feel free to copy, remix and share images from this post according to the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution Sharealike 4.0 International license.
If you'd like to read more, you can check out an organized catalog of my posts on Steemit here.
Sort:  

But if it were me, I'd want more of a bench, inscribed: sitters welcome, so that visitors could come along and appreciate my view, and through their backsides, I could feel a touch of the living again.

Wanting to touch some ass from the grave...good man...lol.

Sorry couldn't pass that one up.

Heh, that was my thinking. I plan on being a dirty old man and then a downright pervy corpse!

I'll one up you with plans on being a perverted old man, no reason to wait until I'm dead...lol

I'm sure Jesus isn't to pissed about renting out a steeple to make ends meet. He's probably more pissed that in front of a fresco of him turning over tables in the temple, there is a souvenir coin machine in Notre Dame Cathedral.

LOOOOOL!

I'm sure Jesus isn't to pissed about renting out a steeple to make ends meet. He's probably more pissed that in front of a fresco of him turning over tables in the temple, there is a souvenir coin machine in Notre Dame Cathedral.

There is a very old cemetery near my capital that this reminded me of. Love old cemeteries...I was totally that weirdo 13 year old that was taking chalk and paper over a grave to capture it's imprint on my paper. At one point I had 5 really full grave scrubbings in my little child collection of oddities. Sadly moister got to the cheap/ thin papers and the gravestone art got tossed.

Did you go through a full goth phase or just have a few morbid interests?

Wow, that was everything I thought it would be and more... thank you for pointing out those mushrooms, I never would have noticed, it was all very poignant what you wrote about that poor baby...

I didn't notice them either until I was editing the photo.

At least Mehitabel got a gravestone. She must have had wealthy parents to be remembered this way.

Also, isn't "Mehitabel" the best name for a girl you've ever heard?

This would be an amazing place to do some headstone rubbings. I've been through Bonaventure Cemetery in Savannah, GA numerous times and there is an extremely old cemetery in my home county where I grew up called Oakgrove that has some amazing headstones and carvings. I did a set of photos there many years ago and I need to find them and post them one day. Thanks for sharing.

My pleasure! I'd be a little nervous about gravestone rubbings here. Some of the stones are literally crumbling, and there's a couple lying broken on the ground.

I'd love to see those pictures, though. Savannah is a beautiful city and I bet the cemeteries are stunning.

Hmm, yes, I've always rather liked wandering around old cemeteries. I find them peaceful 🙂

I usually like graveyards, but that one gave me a creepy feeling. The gravestones looked like rotting, loose teeth in the old or ill. And the mushroom bit!!! Probably says more about my current state of mind though. ;)

This would definitely be a spooky graveyard to visit at night. The way the stones lean this way and that gives the impression that the dead are restless. I guess the thicker, more traditionally cut tombstones weren't available until the 20th century.

Sorry to hear about your state of mind. I hope everything's all right!

It's fine, not as bad as it has been, just a lot going on.

I actually like walking through cemeteries thinking about the lives of those who are buried there. Thanks for the walk! The one with the finger pointing upwards is interesting.

There are so many unique carvings in this cemetery. It's also interesting how much rougher and narrower the stones are than the modern, highly polished ones. Thanks for coming along on the walk!

you @winstonalden today like have written history for the next generation, thanks ,,