Walk With Me Through Boston Public Garden on Pokemon Go Day - Epic Photo Collection!

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Why is this woman holding two cell phones?


32_Close.jpg
Android or Iphone? I choose... both!

There was a Pokemon Go event in Boston on Saturday.

It was the perfect time to do some street photography.

I don't usually go to the city on the weekend. But Saturday I had the sad errand of attending the funeral of a friend and co-worker.

Once the service was over, there was a long wait for the next train. I decided to head into the public gardens. My friend was a dedicated pipe smoker and notorious curmudgeon, and I would have liked nothing better than to have sat on a bench and smoked a pipe in his honor. But a passing ranger quickly reminded me that smoking is no longer permitted in Boston's parks. I kind-of knew that, but didn't realize there was a potential $250 fine involved. So I put away the pipe and took out the camera instead.

09.jpg

Now, it's not uncommon to see people with cell phones in the city. Hah! That's an understatement. Going through my photographs, I would say that half of everyone, at least, is either looking at a phone, or listening to one through headphones or earbuds.

This was a new level of obsession.

In fact, it became difficult to find anyone who wasn't fixated on their phone.

22.jpg

With the exception of some casual shoppers, and people involved in "regular" face to face conversation, everyone was gazing downwards at their screens, and wandering around in a zombie-like shuffle in pursuit of... something.

30.jpg

I started to feel as though I'd stepped into an episode of Black Mirror. Had the addiction to technology finally become all-encompassing? Were we now incapable of enjoying a moment outdoors without clinging to our silicon slabs?

04.jpg

And then I noticed something. Several of the shamblers were wearing tee-shirts that displayed cartoon characters from Pokemon.

27.jpg

Now, I don't know much about the Pokemon Go phenomenon, other than what was covered in the news a couple years ago. It's an "augmented reality" game where GPS technology is used to project little creatures into real space. They can only be seen through the phones.

34.jpg

And I guess there's something you can do to "catch" or "collect" them. Doubtless, you know more about it than I do.

24.jpg

When I worked at the bookstore, people would wander through in a similar state. I got a couple to show me the animated characters they'd captured with their phones. It seems like honest, harmless fun. And at least it gets people out of the house and exercising for a bit.

25.jpg

Apparently, once you collect some of these creatures, you can meet up in a public place and pit them against each other in some kind of battle. Or maybe they have tea and crumpets together. I'm not sure. In any case, it went some way to explaining the groups of people clustered in small groups around the gardens.

23.jpg

There was some talk of making the bookstore into one of these "Pokemon Gyms". I don't know if they ever did this after I left, but I was grateful it hadn't happened when I was there. I'm fine with harmless fun but these shenanigans could get out of hand in a suburban mall.

08.jpg

I think a public park is a much better setting for it. (Speaking as a grouchy curmudgeon who still has some small sense of fun left.)

29.jpg

Anyway, it would be hard to imagine a better environment for the candid street photographer. A public place just loaded with people, all deeply entranced in whatever the hell it is they're doing. The drama comes free.

18.jpg

Plus, who's going to notice another cell phone out capturing pictures, when several of the people are already walking around with two!

05Double.jpg

There were lots of groups of friends cooperating. And for all I know, some of these people met each other for the first time today. It looks, ironically enough, like a social game.

11.jpg

It's healthy family fun too, apparently. I can think of worse ways to spend father's day weekend, for those what have good fathers.

14.jpg

Some people even got their pets involved. (Or maybe that's just another Pokemon, captured only by my phone camera.)

16.jpg

Although some of the animals did seem rather ignored...

19.jpg

What's going on here, I think, is one of those reality-fantasy intersections where someone poses for a picture holding an object that isn't really there. (Another behavior I would observe at the bookstore.)

26.jpg

One could wax philosophical here about layers of reality, and what's real, really, and, I don't know, maybe the uniqueness of perception as filtered through our individual brains (which are in their way just another form of technology).

12.jpg

But I've got too many pictures to share. As you can see, I really did have to catch them all.

01.jpg

Even grandma here had to get involved.

06.jpg

The benches were packed with dedicated players.

07.jpg

13.jpg

I'm surprised there weren't more pedestrian-related accidents. Although there were several police vehicles (and horses) stationed around the parks. I wonder if they increased their numbers for this event, or if it was usual weekend contingent.

17.jpg

Oh hey, I think this guy may have actually noticed me.

15.jpg

Maybe I'm overdoing it with the number of photos. But it seems like the only way to convey the overwhelming scale of this behavior. I mean, this was literally going on everywhere.

10.jpg

31.jpg

03.jpg

28.jpg

21.jpg

02.jpg

For me, though, the people watching will always take precedence over electronic entertainment. (Even if I'm using my own electronics to enjoy the people watching.)

33.jpg

And with this kind of excitement in town...


32.jpg

What hope is there for a one man band to compete?


35.jpg

Sort:  

I've been stuck in some PokemonRobotic events on the bike-lane area of the park on my bike. It is a real trip. And a bit hazardous. Nice job displaying the whole thing. I can't relate, as I still have a flip phone, but it is an amazing craze. I've heard people have actually died wandering head-down where they probably shouldn't. Sad state of affairs.
Sorry for the reason you were there, but I'm sure your friend would have loved this as a fitting tribute, one curmudgeon to another.
Just don't become a full-on crank...we're not that much fun O :

Oh yeah, my friend would be downright rude any time someone used a cell phone in the store. He'd point at the door and say "Get out!" If he ever discovered there was a Poke monster in the place he probably would have gone on a rampage.

I sometimes envy people their addictions. I'm a lousy drunk - can't handle more than a couple drinks a week now. Can't watch more than two episodes of a TV show in a row. Can't read for longer than an hour. Video games feel more like work than fun.

So I wonder... what's it like to be so into something that you just need to do it?

Ha haa, he sounds like quite the character, and the world is no-doubt at a loss without him. I have a REAL hard time with the phone thing. I was at the bank recently, and a person just kept talking while doing their business. Sorry, but unless someone is in the hospital of having a baby right now, you are rude as hell. Guess it's just something drilled into me when young. Now I'm all holes, but at least have a FEW manners.

As for habits, I am similar on some scales, though movies, we won't even GO there. And the worse in reverse, writing. I could spend all my time doing that. I would imagine you are on that plane now and then, with your level of skill and perception about life and, using a typewriter! Talk about dedication. I consider the creative a good thing, though sleeping takes a real hit now and then. (I stayed up till 3:30 the other morning, writing about Pond Soup. Some things you just gotta finish....)

The real contest should have involved big ole holes dug around the park. Then pokemon it up. I say that because watching people fall and walk into things was the BEST thing that happened during the pokemon crisis of 2016. I watched someone walk right into a 6 foot deep hole that was being dug in the park here in alaska to fix some lines. Walk Walk Walk....gone.

That's too funny. Full contact gladiator style Pokemon!

I actually haven't seen any call phone related injuries around here. It's like people in the city have developed a sixth sense for blind walking. Or maybe they've just had a few years' extra practice by now.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-18T13:04:03
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 137.70/200.00
Total Photos: 20
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

interesting

I often imagine stepping into a time machine going twenty years into the future and watching some weird social development.

I could not imagine a more weird-ass change then this! And this future is happening now.

Forget a future-dystopia with visual cortex augmentation. These sheep are doing it on their own with their fancy-dancy smart phone that they don't know what better to do with -- these phones have technology that's more powerful than combined NORAD processing power from the 50's! And they use it for something this trivial!

These guys will be first in line to get that visual cortex implant when it comes available. They'll never distinguish reality from propaganda then. The advertisers and the governments will absolutely love 'em!

PS great photography. You really captured the moment.

Thanks so much for the comment, @joe.nobel. It really is staggering how many people are drawn into this experience.

I'm a pretty intense curmudgeon, but there has to be something to the game that makes it so compelling, so I do try to understand the excitement. Maybe I've just reached the age where any new technology seems superfluous - the way my grandmother would shake her head when she saw the first computers.

Well, curmudgeon to crumudgeon, I'm following you now. You take great photos. And, Boston is my town, too.

Poignant capturing of the fall of humanity Winston...just what I need on a rainy Monday morning LOL!!! Now, where's my razor blade...

That got dark! Are you not a fan of the pokey mons?

Love the new profile pic btw.

Bwa hahaaaa!! Indeed, the zombie apocalypse!! It's all I can think about when I see that many people craning their necks at one time hahhaa!!

<3 <3 Thanks for the compliment on the photo, it's a dress made in Palestine!

Flagged for hate of Pokemon!

BOOM.

It's just 1% so it's mostly on an emotional level.

Oh no I accidentally upvoted. Time to change to a flag.

Bwa hahhaaa! You're lucky I got thick skin lololol :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83