Toad Hall Sunset and Birding Report - Swans, Seagulls, and More. Walk With Me to the Shore!

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

Just another sunset here at Toad Hall...


SunsetSwans3.jpg
This image has been sized to be a desktop wallpaper, if you'd like to save it.

Lucky for me, I didn't head out for a last minute run this evening. I would have missed an exceptional view, and a couple of noble pilots.

SunsetSwans2.jpg

Have you heard the sound of Swans flapping their wings on a calm evening? It's otherworldly, like a bit of rhythmic electronica.

SunsetSwans1.jpg

Two seconds earlier, before they had flown into the sun, the lighting was quite different.

Swans.jpg

The tide went down at the same time as the sun today.

SunsetGulls1.jpg

This brought the gulls out for some shellfishing. No junk food for our gulls. These guys eat healthy.

Gulls3.jpg

They might be "common" birds, but I just love their antics.

Gulls2.jpg

When they find a scallop, crab, or quahog, they fly up and drop it on the rocks to break it open. The other day one of them managed to hit our sliding glass door with one. I heard it all the way in my office, where I was listening to music with headphones on. We're lucky it didn't break the glass.

Gulls1.jpg

Here's the usual view of my two favorite trees. Usually I photograph them in the morning, but this time of day they look completely different. Why are sunsets so much more colorful than sunrises, do you suppose?

UsualTrees.jpg

I think the mudflats here look like a giant footprint, in negative. STOMP!

WALK WITH ME!!! says the giant.

Flats1.jpg

Sorry, but I didn't go far for tonight's walk. Mostly because I didn't have to!

To see any of these images full size, you can right click and select "Open image in new tab."

DQmdiEWtRnX5V9cwAD3WvrxibR6TzkVj7sbscCgawdmKMck.png

Unless otherwise stated, photography is the work of the author. Feel free to copy, remix and share images from this post according to the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution Sharealike 4.0 International license.
If you'd like to read more, you can check out an organized catalog of my posts on Steemit here.
Sort:  

Very nice for sure . Would like to see that some time

Oooh wow, I have never seen a swan in flight before...how fabulous, and the way you described it gave me gooseflesh...(no pun intended!)

Such crisp photos of the gulls too, they are so great at posing hey? I'll definitely be featuring this #walkwithme tonight! Beautiful work!!!

Thank you so much Lyndsay!

Stunningly crisp clear photographs. Maybe the evening sky is full of the sands and dusts of the day? Just a random guess:)

Thanks for the wallpaper - such a lovely view.

Beautiful, relaxing images! I think sunset always looks better than sunrise, because we are waking up with sunrise!!! Grumpy morning person here.

It's weird. I was always a night owl too. But for the past couple of weeks the dog has been waking me up promptly at 6:30 and suddenly I'm up with the sun. I've also cut alcohol out of my diet for the last week or so and that's just changed my rhythms even more. But the colors at sunset are always more vivid.

Heck of a sunset. The clouds have a cool look to them.

Wow! you truly managed to catch the essence of sunset and those geese and gulls. It is the perfect wallpaper you are correct. You might not have gone far but you had some epic photo's for this walkwithme. Loved this post. : )

Thanks! I'm so glad you liked it.

Very wonderful scenery at the sunset down,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62873.38
ETH 3037.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63