GPS Art - The Run That Looks Like A Runner

in #walkwithme6 years ago

It may not be the prettiest picture --

-- but I drew it with a nothing but a pair of running shoes and the GPS tracker in my phone, and the RunKeeper app.

gps_run.jpg

Actually that's kind of a lot of kit just to draw a crude stick figure. Plus I used Gimp to isolate the track from the map - because, well, you don't need to know exactly where I live just because Google, Runkeeper, and every other company that has a stake in maintaining cell-phone connectivity do.

This running doodle was totally unintentional, by the way.

The woodland paths were muddy, so I stayed on paved roads today, looping through a few neighborhoods farther afield from my usual run.

Eight miles, every other day, seems to be working for now. It gives me the satisfaction of a longer run without the repetitive stress injury of daily workouts. I did 32 miles this week and feel pretty good.

Anyway, I got home, looked at the GPS, and said, "Hey, I drew a runner!" I didn't even have to rotate the picture. Up is North!

No photographs of today.

I was thoroughly "in the zone," playing tunes and dodging cars, and the streets weren't at their prettiest anyway.

But in compensation, here's a couple from earlier in the week which I haven't shared yet. Just imagine all that snow turning to mud in the woods and you'll understand why I stuck to the pavement and danced with the (thankfully light) traffic instead.

Path3.jpg

Path4.jpg

Path8.jpg

Well, I've just searched GPS art on Google.

There's some impressive stuff out there. But I doubt the creators of these larger works traced them out with running shoes.

I don't think this is a craft I'm going to pursue much farther. But who doesn't love a happy creative accident once in a while? Especially when it's so surprisingly appropriate?

ThankYou5.jpg

Thanks for reading. If you liked it, give it an upvote or a re-steem, maybe, why not?

And there's always more to see on my blog, and in my archives.
Sort:  

Glad you came out unscathed from your dance with light traffic lolol!!!

Me too! Let's promise each other we'll be careful on these windy rural highways.

i appreciate your perspective.

Great little coincidence, love it :)

wow.....that's a beautiful photo of nature and wonderful place..

Thanks. I'm so grateful that I get to run here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94