In The Footsteps Of Hobbits...

It's been a while since a @walkwithme! So i've done two for you this weekend 🤩!


First is a walk i've been meaning to do for a while now and its a special one! Its called 'The Tolkien Trail'. J R Tolkien who wrote 'Lord of The Rings' stayed in this remote part of the UK after his son John was evacuated here during WW2; to the Jesuit seminary at St. Mary’s Hall (now the preparatory school for Stonyhurst College, which the walk goes past). There are many names here similar to those that appear in the books one 'Shire Lane' a real road in Hurst Green the nearby village. So this walk in steep in history fictional as well as factual, hence my excitement in walking this walk!

Lets get on the boots and head off!


Were of to catch the bus. But look daffodils are coming out Ooooh Snowdrops too, spring is coming Yay!


 



Right on the bus for a while. He's a  fast driver its like a rollercoaster!

 

Finally off! Lets go on the walk!



Lovely clear day.



I just love the views around here and the cottages!



This is an old cricket pavilion sadly abandon what a waste!



Apparently this gate is listed amazing. Not going to get into loads of stile's and gates today though, I don't want it to become a obsession!



Wonderful trees, just like from the shire.



An observatory that is part of StonyHurst College! Yes the school has its own observatory; how the other half live hey!



Now that it a stunning building. Imagine that as your school!



Now were properly in the shire; don't you think! 



Just amazing here, 'Over Hacking Woods'. Is that Gollum under the bridge?



I'm lost for word here...




A lovely little bridge (haha todays obsession).



The river Hodder here. 



The Hodder bridge




This is Cromwell's Bridge named after Oliver Cromwell marched his army over it. Interestingly it was never finished.




A quick panoramic for you.



Go on then another...



Who doesn't love a good combine shot?



This tree is something straight out of the lord of the rings!



Hacking Hall just in front. Here were walking along the River Hodder it meeting the Ribble!



The view are just cracking views for you. Up there is where the Panoramic was shot!



Wow Mordor is ahead!



And a refreshing sit down in the local pub!



Thanks for joining me, I hope you enjoyed today little stroll!


Some of my most recent posts might are:

@vibeof100monkeys - Its in the name

I Gave In To The State Today...

No Words Required...!


Sort:  

Was the pub named the "Prancing Pony" lol That tree with the bulge at the bottom does look straight out of a Tolkein story!

No unfortunately not! You can really see when his inspirations came from with the trees on this walk. Thanks for popping but 💯🐒

Those are some amazing photos. There is such culture there. It is wonderful to see so many old building and bridges. We live in Canada and it is very different. Not as many old building. Thanks so much

You welcome thanks for joining me. I just love it, have wanted to do this walk for a while so glad I did. 💯🐒

Happy to join. Thanks again!

great posts. And thanks for your upvote recently..UPVOTED and following.

Thanks for joining me 💯🐒

my pleasure...good work.

Awesome getting to see where you live on the other side of the world. My favourite picture is the green bridge :)

Thanks! Yer its a wonderful spot. The joys of this #walkwithme tag. You can stroll all around the world amazing, we have @lyndsaybowes to thank 💯🐒

So pretty! Thanks for the walk! I love the names! I cant believe the flowers are already budding, such a special time of year :)

Thanks for coming along! Yep spring is on its way but its cold for this time of years average so hope they will survive, better than rain for me though 💯🐒

Have I mentioned that I'm completely jealous of you living in such a beautiful place? So green, so many trees. It's my dream, you know. I live in the city, in high desert, so it's dry and brown and most of the trees are scattered and planted by humans in neat rows.
I know what you mean about the crazy bus drivers! Sometimes we're hanging on for our lives and I want to shout, "You know we don't have seatbelts back here and are balancing babies and groceries and schoolbooks, right??"

Haha spot on with the bus driver. I know it's wonderful here. I was bought up in the city, but now much prefer the country more to come 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29