Going Proper Wild...

Finally I Got Out On The Hills

I have spoken about my passion for wild camping in the past. To be out in the wild and free just relaxes me and allows me to forget all the stresses (not that I have many) also it feeds my anarchist self portraying that sense of true freedom. I have done it with a tent before but wanted to do it properly. For my Xmas present last year I requested a bivy bag and a sleeping bag and I was set. The only problem being the English weather, but this last month has been absolutely cracking! Not high on the mercury gage for some of you but this is England; its been hovering around 20 degree but it's not rained and thats a bonus.

I attempted last the other weekend but the clouds looked ominous and I chickened out.

The forecast this weekend was cracking so the decision was made. Now my bare foot escapades have already earned me the nick name Frodo at work. When I announced this, my work colleges had a field day! Apparently this is odd to be in nature connecting with the universe; you should be at home watching telly and conforming like the norms folks. After the initial "oh my god your going to get killed". By who I wonder? You make your own destiny and if your fearful of something it's more likely to happen, but thats for a deeper post. Back to my work colleagues; funny though after sending pictures and telling them about it the all said how nice it seemed and how they would love to do it. Join me I said, then the conformist excuses came in. See the desire is in all of us it breaking through that barrier and unplugging from the societal conformity thats the hardest part. Once you allow yourself to do something that might be considered out of the ordinary, it like a buzz. This in my opinion is why people take so many drug to escape the confinements of society, they are looking for that freedom (I knew I was). When you are living your life following your natural desires and connecting with something natural rather then your phone or a Tv; that puts you into a state of unnatural trance, you vibrations balances and become more in tune with the natural vibrations of the universe. In turn releasing stress, anxiety and yes i'm going to say it depression. Anyways thats enough reasons for getting out there lets get on it.

IMG_20180608_185541.jpg

I gathered my items trying to keep it as light as possible as it's about an hours walk to the chosen spot. I still had the bag of wood I collected last time so this would save on collecting this time. Then I considered the aspect of entertainment and added a few more items to the bag.

IMG_20180608_191226.jpg

After a brisk stroll of about forty five minutes in the glorious sun, I had worked up quite a sweat. Having chosen to go the steepest route possible in the infinite wisdom that it would be quicker so as not to miss the sunset, I was shattered. But to be fair even though I was rather warm and knackered the sun was still high in the sky and still beaming down. I had a little time to find a spot for the night and set up camp. Not that I have much setting up to do; basically get the bags out and light a fire. Now I decided to use the stove, mainly as I have not used it in a while and also saved burning the grass alright I could charge my phone off it but only to take shots in the morning.

PANO_20180608_201824.jpg

IMG_20180608_210402.jpg

Nicely warm and settled I got the book out and read until the sunset, to be honest not long at all. This was fairly relaxing and liberating to be sure. There was no industrial sounds apart from the odd car in the distance, my ears were filled the evening bird chorus and odd sheep in the background. My eyes could not really focus on the book as the views for constantly changing in the failing light. The fact I was alone with no one around was also quite satisfying.

IMG_20180608_211411.jpg

Then the sunset...

I'll let you enjoy it without my commentary although not the best quite pleasing I think you'll agree:

IMG_20180608_212019.jpg

IMG_20180608_215540.jpg

IMG_20180608_222314.jpg

After this colourful display of nature I did actually read the book of a bit and then dozed off.

PANO_20180608_222215.jpg

I woke around three and had a minor panic as my bag appeared to have vanished. This was shorty understood as I looked around and realised in my sleep I have rolled down the hill a meter or so. After a short shuffle I was reunited with my bag, after admiring the lights and blissful calm sleep was once again achieved.

As expected I was woken but the sound of the birds morning chorus, now I'm not sure what bird it was it was nesting on the ground in the long grass. By all accounts it was a nice way to wake and to be honest I have woken to much worst. First thing I did was strike up the stove and make a nice brew to enjoy the sunrise with, blooming marvellous what more could you ask for on a Saturday morning (haha don't answer that one). The sunrise again was not spectacular but worth a few shots to share.

IMG_20180609_052913.jpg

IMG_20180609_045006.jpg

IMG_20180609_061137.jpg

With the sun in the sky and beating down on me I decided to have another nap and slept under its rays for an hour of so. Then my rubbling stomach woke me and it was time to strike up the stove again and cook some porridge before the walk home, got to get up the energy. I send a picture to the work colleagues with the feet out and at the right angle to live up to my new Frodo name. The porridge was sublime must have been cooking it on the fire added that desired taste.

IMG_20180609_072923.jpg

IMG_20180609_073507.jpg

After the porridge had settled it was time to clear up and leave the site as though no one had beed there or as close as I could get. Just a bit of flattered grass and the ash from the stove. One last look as the and homeward bound it was. Past some mushrooms, don't think this one was edible, not forgetting the sheep with the wild hair do and home. Thanks for coming along!

IMG_20180609_080826.jpg

IMG_20180609_082056.jpg

IMG_20180609_082230.jpg

IMG_20180609_084156.jpg

IMG_20180609_091001.jpg

@vibeof100monkeys banner.jpg

Sort:  

Wow, you are so brave!! <3 <3 <3 Thank you for bringing us camping with you!! Looked like such a peaceful, recharging time...

It was wonderful more to come providing the weather holds out 💯🐒

I like being close to nature. I don't watch TV or listen to the radio and I manage to survive quite nicely. When I want news it is passed on to me through e-mail or discord. not as much anxiety as if I was listening to constant drivel.

The way to be. I do have the radio on in the morning but time it so the news is not on. Besides if I do catch it is very brief (two minutes) and does not really pass my thoughts.. Definitely the way to be throwing out the TV was the best thing I ever did 💯🐒

Good for you!! For getting out in the wild and spending the whole night there. How did it feel to unplug for a while? So nice to join you. Great pictures!!

Many thanks it sure felt refreshing a break from all the modern aspects of life 💯🐒

Fantastic pal. Can't beat gettin among nature. Time in the trees is better than any anti depressant. Like the barefoot thing too. I often take the dog out barefoot. I see you have no TV too. Kindred spirits mate :)

Thanks I love it, nice to meet a fellow barefoot walker. Best thing I ever did was scrap the telly 💯🐒

I describe televisions as Demon Depositors for the home. Nasty little black box brainwashing devices. As soon as we binned the TV, the atmosphere and energy around the house and ourselves was cleansed immediately. I could feel it.

I'd second that! 💯🐒

You got a 100 % upvote for your relaxing camping trip. You never fail to make me laugh with your monkey theatrics. Sorry I have been checked out. 🐓🐓

Nice to see you back, hope alls well 💯🐒

Glad to be back. My brain is fried most of the time, but you can always make me laugh. 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85