Walking and trash talking. #WalkWithV

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

IMG_2148.PNG

Hey peoplekind what's shaking? I'm good! So if you have kids, ya know they can get a little nuts with pent up energy from to time. So as a parent you're always trying to find a way to channel that kid energy into something productive and beneficial to your child's development.

Well anyways giving my wife a much needed break, I decided to talk my kids for a walk. Going for walk is always a good way to get them out of the home environment, where they can refocus their minds and in turn rebalance themselves. But you know what's even better than a walk? Putting your kids on a mission to clean up the neighbourhood lol. Yes, sometimes I like to take my kids out and bag up some trash on our block.

My kids actually like doing this, but as an extra motivator, I offered them .50¢ per bag full of trash.

IMG_2133.JPG

Haha my boy was in disbelief of all the cigarettes butts we found as we walked along the blue wall in the back ally. I speculated that the likely culprits were the construction workers, who put in that wall just before this winter we just had. So after saying that, every time we would find another bundle of cigarettes, he would complain to the construction workers as if they were there to hear him. lol

IMG_2134.JPG

My little girl hazel played trash spotter for the first part of our walk. She was pretty good! She was spotting the tiniest bits of litter everywhere!

IMG_2136.JPG

Unfortunately, at this point we got so into bagging trash, I completely forgot to take more pictures until the end of our walk. But in the end we had a pretty good haul. The kids did a great job helping me clean up our neighborhood.

IMG_2138.JPG

The kids were DONE! And didn't want to walk anymore. But fortunately I brought this badass wagon just for this very likelihood.

IMG_2137.JPG

Haha just getting a photo of the kids with their earnings was ridiculously difficult. But here is nonetheless!

IMG_2139.JPG

Well anyways it wasn't a very long trip or post (especially when you lack photos of it lol) but now our neighbourhood is less disgusting. Hopefully people saw us and were motivated to pick up some trash themselves.


Maybe some of you who read this, will feel like getting out for a walk with a pair of gloves and start bagging up some litter in your neighbourhood or wherever you end up going for a walk.

You stay classy steemit and as always... I thank you for reading!

Sort:  

You should tag it with #litterwalk as well :-)

(giving myself a modest 1% upvote for better visibility)

That's awesome, thank you!

Just awesome. Youre raising the type of people everyone wants as their neighbor. Good job. Now if only these types of behavior were popular instead of the trash on tv.

Thank you. Hey, all we can do is be the example and others will be motivated.

#WalkWithV. Love it! 😎

Looks like you have this in on time for this week's contest, I hope!! xoxo Great job Family <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

Oh, right on. Thanks for letting me know about this. Pretty cool incentive to get people out and motivated to take care of their community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28