Walk with Me! In the Pacific Northwest Island SNOW

OMG y'all we got snow. Check this business out and come out with me for a stroll around the property. Make sure that you bring your gloves, a scarf, and a hat! There is a wind coming out of the North, and it can get pretty chilly when you're not in the trees.

image
I've got my boots on with some THICK wool socks!

image
The view from the front of the house is incredible. It's really not that cold here, temperature-wise. The thermometer outside said it was hovering right at 32F degrees. I don't expect that the snow will stick around for much longer.

image
Eventually, there will be a vegetable garden behind this retaining wall. It gets a good amount of sun in the summer and fall.

image
Then up and to the right is the orchard! The trees here are anywhere from 20 to 30 years old, and some might actually even be a little bit older. And there is an assortment of apple trees here plus some Rainier cherry trees. They didn't do very well last year, so fingers crossed that this year is better.

image
This is just one of the many ferns that are out in the orchard. There are a lot of blackberry vines as well, and I am working to clear them out. It's not that I don't like blackberries! It's that there are plenty of them on other spots of the property.

image
This is just part of the trail system that goes around the back of the house. There are mostly cedar trees in this area.

image
Dog for scale!

image
Beautiful lichen along some of the fallen trees that still need to get cleaned up! There's still plenty of time though, so I am in no hurry.

image
I wish that y'all could get a sense of what being out here smells like! The air is so fresh, and so crisp, but you can still smell the unique aroma that these evergreen trees give off.

image
SO MANY TREES!

image
I love seeing crocus in the winter time! They are some of the most incredible flowers, and I'm so happy that there's not squirrels out in this area that want to dig them up and transplant them around. Apparently they have enough to do in the woods without worrying about these.

image
These purple and white striped ones came up about a week after the solid purple ones. I'm not really sure if there's a difference in them not, or if maybe these ones were just planted a little bit more deeply than the other ones.

image
Fingers crossed that the honeysuckle transplants survive! It has technically been colder than this, over the last couple of months. But they've never officially had snow on them yet. I'm sure it'll be fine, and they're not that expensive, but I really wanted to say that I had success with starting honeysuckle!

And then I got cold, so I started a fire and came inside. Now I have a little silly kitty napping on my lap, helping me to stay double warm.

Thanks for walking with me!

Sort:  

Your pictures are beautiful, thanks for sharing them. We don't get much snow here in the south, but it does get cold from time to time. What good is cold without snow? Well, it's not any good at all! Enjoy your lovely day, and please share more pictures!

i feel you there! after spending 20+ years in texas, and a dozen up here, i still get super excited when the snow comes through!

Haha! I dance around like little girl when it snows here. I just love it. I grew up in Chicago, though. Boy, does it snow there! Except after the first week or two, the snow turns black and grey, and then it isn't so pretty anymore. Until it snows again. Nothing like 8 inches of snow to make things clean again. LOL

Beautiful pictures! It is so lovely out there! Get warm now!!

the fire is blazing, and the cup of tea is roasty toasty warm :)

So beautiful! The photo with your dog is magical. You've got a beautiful forest at your doorstep. Crocus in the winter time! I've never heard of such a thing ...I'm a teeny bit jealous :)

these crocus are also near the front, in a raised up sort of area. the ground is a bit warmer there - usually they don't come up until early march ... which is still only a couple of weeks away.

and thank you! i sometimes forget how special this place is. taking time to let it swallow me up is important.

Beautiful photos of a wonderful walk. I felt as if I was walking with you. It is still a winter wonderland with the snow covering the ground and trees.

thank you! the snow has pretty much turned into clumps of ice right now, but there are a few hidden places that are fully shaded and still incredible! :)

It's pretty crazy how much snow there is today! We're kind of stuck up on the mountain over here lol. I really like the picture of the crocus. Stay warm!

the fire, plus many cups of mint tea, had me so warm and cozy!

Oh, I MISS the Pacific Northwest and those monster evergreens giving off that clean crisp delightful smell! And you have Rainier cherry trees?! LUCKY! I loved being able to buy those by the pound along the side of the road. I really enjoyed your walk!

thank you - i had a lot of fun doing this walk!

i had never even heard of rainier cherries until maybe 7 years ago, after being up here for about 5 years. i think they taste kind of like pears, but in cherry format. SO GOOD!!!

Loved sharing this adventure with you! The perfect deviation from my the things I typically focus on reading. Sometimes the good life just falls in your lap (or snows on your beautiful land!) A good reminder to stop and enjoy what life shares with you. :)

thank you so much - glad i could provide a better-than-just-a-distraction for you! :)

You got a 100.00% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @twinislandflames! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51