Oslo - viewpoint at the hillside

in #walkwithme6 years ago (edited)

If you ever are in Oslo and have one hour available and a transport card, I do have some suggestions ... and yesterday I found one more: take bus #70 up the hills, jump off and enjoy the view!

This is a continuation post of my Friday morning walk, in my previous post I passed Bryn train station and went a bit along the river. The road I was planning to follow (and take spectacular photos of the water falls) was closed due to maintenance, so I decided to just open up google maps and ask for the fastest transportation downtown. I was positively surprised with the walk to the bus stop ...

Google wanted me to go up to the right instead of down to the left, and it says it will take ten minutes to get to the nearest bus stop. My instinct wants me to go to the left and search for a bus stop there. I'm wondering if Google knows that it takes more time to climb up hills than to walk down hills ... but anyway, it's healthy to climb hills and I'm probably fit enough to beat the google estimate even if it doesn't account the climb.

The first photo is not so far from the train line - but I'm very much surprised to see snow on those photos (there was some in a garden as well). It shouldn't be surprising to find snow in Oslo in the very end of November, and some few days ago it was -10C. It started snowing on Wednesday, but it didn't take long until it was raining instead - raining heavily indeed. It continued raining (although not that heavily on Thursday and this Friday morning it was also quite rainy. No snow to be seen anywhere else. This place is not exactly high up in the mountains, it's lower than my home. I can't understand how it's possible that there are snow here while there are no traces of snow anywhere else in Oslo.

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.905555,10.803297 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:27:25 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.905162,10.80395 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:28:59 localtime - full quality

I wonder what this tower is for ... could there be some underground parking under here?

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.905162,10.80395 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:28:33 localtime - full quality

Google Maps wants me to climb those stairs. I'm surprised. Positively surprised since I love stairs, but I would be negatively surprised if I would be coming by wheenchair, with a bike or with a pram ... then it would most likely not have been possible to catch the bus.

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.905147,10.803914 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:28:12 localtime - full quality

Most of the stairs were concrete, there were huge cracks in the concrete many places and the connection between the handle bars and the concrete was corroded through and broken many places. At some places wooden steps had been constructed to supplant the concrete. Weird, in my head concrete should last for longer than wood ...

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.904964,10.804402 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:29:49 localtime - full quality

A glimpse of view between the houses. Of course, a house with a view has a big market value, while a public footpath or public road with a view doesn't have much of a market value - so wherever there is a view, most likely there will be houses blocking the view.

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.904869,10.804305 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:30:27 localtime - full quality

Well, well ... look at that, quite some view from here actually!

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.904529,10.804008 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:31:19 localtime - full quality

I like the style of this house.

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.90443,10.803011 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:33:27 localtime - full quality

Wooow! From here one can really see all of Oslo!

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.90443,10.803011 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:33:42 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.90443,10.803011 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:33:46 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.90443,10.803011 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:33:54 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.90443,10.803011 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:33:58 localtime - full quality

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.904418,10.802827 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:34:02 localtime - full quality

I had to backtrack a bit to find my way back to the bus stop. There were actually several persons waiting for the bus there. From the bus stop it was possible to see one ugly building and one quite nice building. I'd probably prefer to live in the ugly building, so it would be possible to look out the windows without seeing any ugly buildings :-)

Photo taken by tobixen
position: geo:59.903934,10.803229 (geohack) - 2018-11-30 10:35:31 localtime - full quality

Totally ~3000 steps taken throughout those two #walkwithme-posts, totally taken 17210 steps during the whole day.

Selected photos available in original quality on IPFS QmbUvBmdM5bcrgrP67moWNAiADFWPPP4c2W2HpHAbi1HAX. All photos taken available in original quality on IPFS QmVwf8MfgMCMRfEVUe4jXqVkNuFNSKQSKmypeAyk9yZBMK. The CC BY-SA 4.0 license applies on both my photos and the article


Don't be afraid to criticize my posts. I will give a 100% upvote to any (unique) reply pointing out typos, grammar mistakes or mistakes in the facts presented. This applies to any post or comment from me, no matter how old. I also usually give upvotes to opposing points of view, particularly when a good and logically valid argument is given.

Sort:  

I like this kind of posts from you. Is it only me or is December in Norway is quite... I don't know... dark and wet?

Btw: The beginning of your post is somehow wrong:

I you ever is in Oslo

If you ever are?

$rewarding 100%

A pity my rewards aren't nearly as rewarding as they used to be

Well, we're all in the same boat regarding the missing rewards...

Apperantly, also the $rewarding bot is down. @holger80, are you aware of this?

P.S.: @tobixen: The first word is still missing an "f" if you're asking me.^^

Thanks for mention me. The bot was down and should work again.
$rewarding 0.05$

Please specify the upvote percentage!.

I like this kind of posts from you. Is it only me or is December in Norway is quite... I don't know... dark and wet?

Absolutely. I've been writing a bit on it in my previous posts. Though, it can be quite white as well.

white is better. ;-)

Yes, particularly in the north where there is no sun at all at this time of the year. Here it can be white and sunny even in the middle of December ... that's luxury :-)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tobixen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=oslo-viewpoint-at-the-hillside


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Wao what a great and enjoyable weather. I really like cold weather. You are so enjoying your life. Very beautiful architecture of buildings. Tress gives you fresh air. Clouds looks so wonderful. I m so glad to see beautiful places. Thanks for sharing.

well, it had mostly stopped raining when I got up there. It's quite warm those days, I was going out with only my t-shirt today.

Dear @tobixen,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Hi @tobixen!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.900 which ranks you at #4101 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 20 places in the last three days (old rank 4121).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #39.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @tobixen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 4000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82