A Tour of Haigh Country ParksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #walkwithme6 years ago

Hello friends. This morning Kelly and I took Syd for a nice walk through Haigh Country Park. We're lucky to live within walking distance of this wonderful place. I've been visiting this place for over 40 years now am still finding new paths and trails that I have yet to walk along.

New maps such as this are now scattered across the park to ensure newcomers don't get lost. Before the maps were installed I often found myself pointing people in the right direction. A wrong turn in this place can turn into many miles. There are so many trails and paths that I can still lose myself in the trees on occasion.

The colours of autumn really are special.

The main path soon branches off along a tributary of the River Douglas.

Here the path crosses an old disused railway line. The old line is too muddy to walk along at this time of year but some of the old railway workings can be found along the way.

We then come to this bridge which crosses the Leeds Liverpool Canal.

Looking north from the bridge. A grade 2 listed bridge can be seen on the left.

The view to the south.

We took a little detour down this path along the canal for a while.

We left the canal and soon came across one of the many ponds in the woodland.

We eventually approach the central area of the park.

This is a high ropes course.

This is popular with yougsters at weekends and during the holidays.

Popular cafe with toilets and seating indoor and out.

Haigh stables courtyard. There is another cafe inside and aritisan stalls on occasion.

The road to Haigh Hall.

Haigh Hall sits at the centre of the 250 acres of park and woodland. Haigh Hall was built between 1827 and 1840 for James Lindsay, the 7th Earl of Balcarres. It was the Lindsay family home until being sold to Wigan Corporation in 1947.

The building is now a hotel and is also used for weddings and corporate events.

The view from Haigh Hall looking out over the golf course towards Wigan.

Walking back along the main path we come across this tree which unfortunately is going to be cut down. The dreaded red dot means the tree has disease and must go.

This tree has undergone the red dot treatment.

This tree has also received the red dot.

Thankfully this beauty has been given the all clear with the green dot.

Another green light.

As we near the exit we reach a row of small cottages.

On leaving the park we saw two cows standing by the side of a gate looking out towards the road.

I stroked this girl for a while and a tear ran down her face as I did so. I got up close and looked her in the eye as I told her how lovely she was and of course a tear ran down my face too.

Thanks for following along.

I do hope you enjoyed the tour.

STEEMONKEY🐒

Sort:  

howdy there steemonkey! hey this was a wonderful tour sir, I can see why you like to go to this park, I'd be there everyday if I could, great scenery and great shots!

Thank you. It certainly is a lovely place. There's so much more to see there as well. Too big a place to get around in a day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75