#Walkwithme around the homestead this frozen morning

in #walkwithme7 years ago

fullsizeoutput_9e4.jpeg

We've been getting some three dog nights around here lately, that is, cold temperatures below freezing that require three dogs sleeping with you to keep warm. Hello morning! As I walk out to do the chores with cold hands, the snow is so crisp and squeaky.

fullsizeoutput_9dd.jpeg

Good morning goats! Staying warm in your hay-filled south facing shelter I hope!

fullsizeoutput_9df.jpeg

Hay bales bringing peace of mind, still have plenty to get our creatures through the winter.

fullsizeoutput_9e2.jpeg

Hello to Mr. Sage, the handsome ram... Wishing I had a wool coat just like his this morning...

fullsizeoutput_9e0.jpeg

Checking the solar, full charge, good to go!

fullsizeoutput_9ea.jpeg

Conifers looking pretty in the snow!

fullsizeoutput_9db.jpeg

Crunch crunch goes the snow, couldn't wait long enough for the hennies to hold still for a picture today, hands are too cold!

Thanks for walking with me on the farm today!

#walkwithme inspired by @lyndsaybowes

Sort:  

Haha! Someone who knows what 3 dog night is - love it! We are crazy warm here in Idaho. Over 3000 feet elevation, and my fruit trees are budding out... not good! But beautiful!

Oh my!!! haha yes!

I used to have goats. They can really be adorable. Molly would stand on her hind legs and do circles for a doggie biscuit. I'm going to do a walk about today also. The weather has been awesome and I need to get out more.

awww, yes they can. I love our goats they have such great personalities! Have a great walk!

we had a one dog night once. Winter camping, don't you love it? If it wasn't for that german sheppard letting us stick him into our sleeping bag, we would surely have been frozen solid in the morning. It was a beautiful -40 night, full moon, and colder than a frogs butt. The fire burned down about 5' into the snow bank. lol we were cross country skiing to town, 50 miles away. Thank god there was a hotsprings half way through the adventure. Always pushing to see what we can endure. :) it all worked out.

Wow that is quite an adventure! Haha yes, perhaps a little exaggeration on the three dog night, but when yer not used to it it sure felt like it!!!

Nice looking goats & sheep! Thanks for showing us around :) I hope it doesn't get too cold tonight because I only have one dog here!

Haha Yes! Thank you very much!!

That was a very enjoyable walk via photos!

I love seeing pictures of other people's homestead. Helps to encourage me. Thanks for sharing.

Great! Thank you for stopping by! Glad you are encouraged!!

I thought that sheep had 6 legs. Lol. Great winters walk. Burrr..

HAhahaa... Thanks for stopping by!!

What a lovely walk through your land. Everything looks so cold that I have started freezing here.

oh my!!! haha thanks for stopping by!

Yeah Hennies don't cooperate for photos very well, they move so much and so fast, it's hard on the best of days to get a clear shot of those little wranglers!!

Mr. Ram looks so beautiful and healthy, great job taking care of your animals so well <3 <3 <3

Thank you very much!! It is true about the hennies!!!

I'm not sure who looks more cold.. you or the goats!

Snow + conifers + crunch! What Joy. Thank you. It's so very beautiful, this way of living.

Thank you for stopping by and checking out my post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40