You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What am I up to at the moment?

in #walkwithme5 years ago

Noticing you had written another post @delishtreats and happy for you to read the progress you are making in realizing your dream. I liked the amount of detail you offer. It clearly indicates to me how well prepared you are in moving forward. The challenges you face are just an inevitable part of life. Your approach, while there are no guarantees, I believe significantly increases the likelihood of your success.

”Besides the work that I do I also still have to study as my exams are approaching fast and I must admit that I'm not ready yet. I only have two more weeks to study and I'm becoming a little bit nervous to be honest.”

I was not sure to what this was referring. Are you required to obtain some sort of business license for your restaurant? And you have to pass a test to get it? If anywhere close, what on earth are they testing you about?

”All dishes will be regional and as we have an abundance of wild garlic here, I would like to add it to my spring menu. Last Sunday I went to the forest to collect some and turn it into delicious meals.”

This sounded most interesting, as I can picture it quite well. “Spring” menu, so it will be a seasonal item. Still, it will be interesting what you find you will need to do to meet the demand (hopefully 😉). Maybe your future “walkwithme” stress reliever, while still taking care of your responsibilities! After all, you will have a “quality control” aspect there, which you most likely will want to personally attend to … 😉

Very nice pictures you took along the way to your secret stash of wild garlic! Clearly your season is ahead of ours. We are finally getting some warmer weather, but we’ve awoken this morning to find a fresh “skiff” of snow on the ground. Luckily for us, it will be melted before long. That is partly how we distinguish Spring from Winter. How long the snow remains on the ground, once it has fallen … 😉

Great to get your update @delishtreats. Looking forward to future posts on your new “journey.” All the best to you along the way!

Sort:  

I have tried to think everything through so that there can't be any nasty surprises. I'm not saying I have covered everything yet but I'm working on all the details that I can think of. I have also talked to some people from gastronomy already which helped me a lot.

In the canton where I live you have to have some experience in gastronomy if you want to obtain a licence to open a restaurant. I don't have it so I have to pass an exam. It's about hygiene, various foods, preparation, control, risks, various bacteria, viruses, etc.. The problem is that it's in German so it doesn't go as fast as I would love to. These are parts from the law so you can imagine it's not written with the easiest language..

I don't think there will be many 'walkwithme' going forward as I really don't have that much time and when I do I prefer just to sit down and have a cup of coffee. But we will see :) Absolutely! That will be one of my tasks :) I will focus on managing the business and making sure that we adhere to all the local regulations. They are very strict with the quality here so it will be a huge task.

I think we will have it in season for a few more weeks. I wanted to go again today but didn't manage so will try to go tomorrow in the afternoon. Snow at the end of March? Is this usual? Hopefully it will melt very soon. It was 20 degrees Celsius here today. I was sitting outside in my t-shirt :)

Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words!

Whoa @delishtreats, gastronomy ... Sounds scary! 😉

"It's about hygiene, various foods, preparation, control, risks, various bacteria, viruses, etc."

Well, I guess that's not so bad then. But in German? I'm obviously not from "over there," so I goggled "Swiss language." The "Reader's Digest" version of what I see is there is no "official" Swiss language - but instead four languages! Good grief ... 😉 Good luck with that!

"... as I really don't have that much time and when I do I prefer just to sit down and have a cup of coffee."

Makes perfect sense, although I will miss our engagement. Hopefully we'll still hear from you from time to time. We'll want to know how it is going. "The good, the bad, and the ugly" ... 😊

"Snow at the end of March? Is this usual?"

Yes, quite common. Since moving to where we live now, in fact, the single biggest snowstorm (it was a bit "freakish" though ...) we've experienced was on May 8th - Mother's Day here in America that year. We had elected to go across to the other side of the Continental Divide for a little trip in celebration. The problem was wouldn't get back across the passes to return to work on Monday morning! They were closed!!


P.S. In case you are not familiar with the "Continental Divide," it runs down through the western United States. All rivers to the west of it flow to the Pacific ocean. All rivers to the east flow to the Gulf of Mexico ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39