A trip to the beach, Melbourne, Australia.

in #walkwithme7 years ago (edited)


The weather was fine and Tanis was going a bit stir crazy so we decided to head down to the beach for a dip. This beach is pretty cool. Not many people know about it. The entrance to the road looks more like a private driveway which probably stops a lot of people exploring down that way. Ive been coming here to "Yamala" beach since I was a teenager and have had some great times here.

IMG_0804.JPG

Some ships heading out from port Melbourne. They could be going anywhere in the world.

IMG_0803.JPG

They have always got to wreck someones fun with their shitty rules. Cool sign though!

IMG_0805.JPG

It is a long way down to the beach. I bet these stairs have defeated many people.

IMG_0806.JPG

Thses cliffs have been eroding for years. I remember a friend climbing this cliff and getting stuck. He was spread eagled on the cliff face for over an hour. That was an hour of hysterics for us but I bet he was shitting bricks! He eventually plucked up the courage to move and got down. What a hoot!

IMG_0808.JPG

Looks like fun, although, there is a reef out there. He would want to be careful of where he lands when he falls of.

fyf.png

Tanis is going in! He wants to catch a seagull. Good luck with that mate!

IMG_0813.JPG

I might see what I can find amongst the rocks!

IMG_0818.JPG

A sea snail on a rock. There are heaps of these guys around. Pretty much everywhere I look I can see one.

fgf.png

Sea lice! I'm not sure about the bigger one. it looks like a baby horseshoe crab. The other things are sea lice though. You'll know when you've come across these fellas. If you swim through a patch they will swarm you and give you a nasty rash from their bites. They will munch on your bait to if you are fishing.

fyk.png

Luna has spotted something! I wonder what it could be!

IMG_0825.JPG

A rock! Good one Luna, you can keep it if you want!

IMG_0824.JPG

An old shell stuck in the sand. Nature is an artist!

IMG_0832.JPG

Jaqi is taking Tanis for a ride while Luna and I hunt sea crawlies!

IMG_0827.JPG

A pretty shell. You know, I mention in most of my walk posts how dangerous the wildlife in Australia can be. We even have pretty shells that will kill you. Luckily we don't have them down my way. CLICK HERE to read about "Cone shells".

IMG_0833.JPG

This snail is harmless. You can eat these guys. These are one of the shells you can find in "Middens". These are piles of shells Aboriginals have left behind from meals. Some Middens are enormous. Read about Middens here.

Whats that in the water?

IMG_0835.JPG

I don't think we have any poisonous star fish in Australia. it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest if we did have though.

IMG_0837.JPG

This is the eight armed cushion star. It's a star fish and is really common around here.

IMG_0838.JPG

Sarlacc pit!

IMG_0841.JPG

These two fish have probably got a nest of eggs in the weed they are protecting. One was really curious to see what I was doing, the other hung back in weed. You can see it's fins if you look closely.

fyj.png

Stuck in the shallows waiting for the tide to come in. It knows I see it but is thankful I'm not a seagull.

fym.png

This sea sponge would look cool in someones fish tank.

IMG_0884.JPG

Snails and barnacles!

IMG_0874.JPG

Some people think these are jellyfish. They wash up on the beach every spring. They are actually sea snail egg clusters and are the perfect thing to throw at your friends.

IMG_0858.JPG

I love the patterns on these sea stars. Its so alien. These are all over the place, although, I do remember there being a lot more when I was a kid.

IMG_0851.JPG
IMG_0852.JPG

That is the match club over there. Around the point from there is an awesome reef to go snorkling on. I spent hours out there when I was a lad. Just swimming around with friends looking at stuff. I wouldn't come in until I started getting cramps. There is some amazing stuff out there. I might grab Tanis and head down that way.

IMG_0855.JPG

Another star hanging out with some snails.

IMG_0881.JPG

I've always wondered what this is for. Maybe it was for lifeguards but I have never seen it in use.

IMG_0882.JPG

Woofprints in the sand.

IMG_0879.JPG

We used to put blankets under these trees and chill in shade when we came here years ago. That was our spot. It is overgrown now.

IMG_0883.JPG

Tanis beat me up there.

IMG_0890.JPG

Good view from up here. I've chilled up here a few times with mates and a bottle of whiskey or two.

IMG_0891.JPG

Oh. I wonder if they get much mail.

IMG_0892.JPG

The cliffs right along here are all like this. They cop a battering from the ocean. You do have to be careful around them. Definitely not for climbing!

IMG_0893.JPG

Poor Cliff. Maybe he just needs a hug.

IMG_0894.JPG

This arch has been there since I can remember. Its a little bit dodgy though. Tanis wanted to go through it, I had to say no. He understood when I pointed at all the rock on the ground around it.

IMG_0895.JPG

Hey dog! Do you know what time it is? It's good to see even the dogs want to "stick it to the man".
Woof. Fuck your rules!

IMG_0896.JPG

The view from the other side of the arch. This is a good spot to swing the metal detector. I have found a bit of old Aussie silver around here. It could be a spot where the tide pushes stuff or someone was pretty unlucky here and lost a pocket full of shillings and sixpence.

IMG_0899.JPG

Time to head back the way we came.

IMG_0876.JPG

You find heaps of broken glass around the rocks. Thankfully the sea has smoothed the majority of it. I had a friend that made jewellery out of it. Her stuff looked pretty nice to be honest.

IMG_0911.JPG

There is a creek that we pass on the way. We passed it on the way up but i thought I would save it for now. I would like to say it is a natural creek but i don't know. It is most likely a stormwater outlet.

IMG_0870.JPG

It isn't running today. It does when it is raining though.

IMG_0872.JPG

Luna is tired and shivery. Daddy is going to carry her the rest of the way. She will warm up in a minute, the sun temperature is still in the twenties.

IMG_0914.JPG

We passed a cranky seagull on the way. I think its mates bailed on it.

fyz.png

Oh damn!

IMG_0918.JPG

We were all hungry after climbing those steps so we stopped off at the fish and chippo on the way home. I scoffed down all of this. Good times!

IMG_0921.JPG

Thanks for coming with us on our mission to the beach. Lots of fun was had! I did have a dip once I put the camera down, the water was great! Cheers!

rambozo.gif

Sort:  

You live in a truly awesome part of the world. So much beauty in the smallest of things. I thank you for bringing your part of the world to me from this walkwithme post. What a special time you had with your family today. Here's to today, tomorrow and forever.

Thanks mate, we had a great time!

I've never been to that beach. Is it south of Melbourne? Love the photos, especially the star fish.

Your logo is also quite hilarious. I should find someone to make one for me :P

It is just outside Frankston, just over Olivers hill on Yamala drive. It took me ages to work out how to to make that gif. It was my first go at one.

I know the spot! Not too far from where i live. :)

There used to be a derelict house along there that was made from the rocks of the beach. it was a pretty cool spot. they have demolished it though.

I was caught by the #walkwithme. What a cool series of stories this can produce! You live a cool part of the world, so spacious and full of oppertunities! Thanks for bringing us on your journey!

You can thank @lyndsaybowes for the #walkwithme tag! She writes awesome ones to!

this seems like a nice day with your family.

Wowwwwwwwww!!! It's so extraordinary to me to see such sea life!!! And it baffles my mind that these sights are ordinary to you! <3 <3 <3 Thank you so much for sharing such an abundance of images with us @ram.bozo! I'm Wow'd!! Life Rocks!!!!

this is a great post. here I see there are some beautiful and fascinating images 👍👍👍👍 @ram.bozo

Cheers mate!

Thank you friend. greetings

Really great photos, love these blog posts of yours, it's great to see so much detail. Keep doing them! They're great.

I need to get out more hahaha.

it is very beautiful and very fun ... atmosphere beaches very peaceful and Beach views still very natural and I really want to vacation to go there to enjoy the beauty. Thanks for share @ram.bozo.

Best regards @nafazul.

What is your opinion about Melbourne and Australia how is this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67343.52
ETH 3227.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65