You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walk With Me [5] - Saunter in the Siuslaw National Forest - Part 2

in #walkwithme6 years ago

I have heard skunk cabbage is edible but I do not know how to harvest and eat it. They were an integral part of the first nations diet in the area. Love those blackberries but I prefer the bramble berries that grow closer to the ground. They are harder to find though but a real treat when you do find them. I always take my son berry foraging a time or two in Stanley Park in the Spring and Summer. I know a few hot spots:)

Sort:  

Those native, low-growing trailing blackberries (Rubus ursinus)have such a wonderful flavor! All that flavor must be concentrated, since it's in such a small berry, lol. How great that you take your son berry picking, too! Some kids really take to foraging. They can pick a lot of berries! ; )

I'll have to make a post about skunk cabbage. They definitely take more effort than berries or many greens. But they have a unique place in foraging. Prepare them wrong, though, and it feels like your throat is getting shredded with little pieces of fiberglass!

Yikes ... to the fiberglass. You will have to get that post up soon. It can't be more than a month to go. Maybe I will give it a shot. A fun project for us to do:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63280.44
ETH 3253.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89