You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wild Food: Mushroom Hunting - Yellow Foot and Black Trumpet

in #walkwithme6 years ago

I love hunting for mushrooms! I've been waiting all winter for spring to come so I can go out and find mushrooms. I live in Chicago, we get harsh winters so I don't think we get any mushrooms during the winter months. I'm excited for morel season! Check out my post about morel; I included my own pictures of mushrooms I found. Finding my first morel was like a rite of passage as a mushroom enthusiast 🍄

Sort:  

It's funny you say that because Morels was my first experience wildcrafting mushrooms as well. It was also exciting for me to find a whole new type of wild food I hadn't experienced yet. How fun that we can share the same morel mushrooms in totally different climates!

Have you tried fairy ring champignon? I harvest that from people's front yards in the summer, including my grandpa's front yard every summer. They have a sweet delicate taste and they say you can make them into cookies as well. I'm taking a different approach to mushrooms this year so I'll try that.

Nope I have not yet, but I will keep my eye out! Mushroom cookies you say? Very interesting, I would not have guessed that-- maybe it makes more sense once you know what they taste like! Thanks for the tip :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45