You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Street Art from Playa Del Carmen, Mexico ...HELP! What does it mean??

in #walkwithme6 years ago

This was an interesting mural. I do understand your questions - but let art be the answer. Do not try to understand what the artist meant, but try to figure out what it means to you, what emotions does it evoke.

There's a lot of emotion in this for me. There's an obvious feeling of loneliness and isolation. At the same time, it feels there is something weighing me down; I am drowning. I truly enjoyed this, thanks for posting the mural :)

Sort:  

I feel the same way. Art is emotional, it comes from and emotional place. I think this is one of those that depending on how you feel will change how you see it and I think you'll always find new things about it you didn't notice before.

There's an obvious feeling of loneliness and isolation. At the same time, it feels there is something weighing me down; I am drowning

I get that feeling too. With all the different faces, it's all the different aspects of you. You aren't just 1 piece, you are many pieces. That's why I mentioned that each time you look at it you will always find something different about it. It's very moving in a lot of ways.

It did make me feel very sad @tryskele, but I just wasn't figuring out why? After reading all of these awesome comments, I now sense the man being overwhelmed with everyone and everything in his life; the feeling of him drowning with it all. Maybe it's about him trying to figure out exactly who he is, and feeling very alone because of it.

Thanks for adding to this discussion! I really appreciate it :)

You're very welcome : ) This is such an awesome piece of street art, it does what it should. It should make you feel and be a bit introspective. As I said art should provoke emotion, since emotion is what drives art. So glad you found your meaning with it.

The street art here is so amazing! I've been posting about it for a while, but there are hundreds of them in this city!

And I love how it seems to have evoked a different response for people here. We all look at art of any kind with our emotional baggage and life experiences, so I love to see how those things appear when people are interpreting art! Such a cool thing :)

Sorry, work got in the way :D Sounds like you're having a great time. I will definitely have to put that as a destination on my bucket list. Sounds amazing.

No worries! It is an amazing place to visit for sure; you should put in on the list :)

I agree with you 100%! I love how a piece of art can mean 100 different things to 100 different people. This one just had me so confused; I knew it made me feel sad for the figure in the mural, but I just wasn't seeing the connection between that feeling of sadness and the rest of it. I love your idea of the man being weighed down; I also felt a feeling of him being overwhelmed too.

Thank you so much for stopping by; it is very nice to meet you @poetrybyjeremy!

It was my pleasure. Humanity is complex, if you keep asking "Why?" you will never find a definite answer. I have learnt to not question the "why?" but rather accept that as my truth, and try to figure out how to move on or what I can take from this (as a lesson).

Yep I hear you! Asking 'why' is really very irrelevant; it doesn't really matter why, it only matters what is.

Yeah. I have a degree in philosophy, so my life is more about the deeper questions, such as, "What is the meaning of life?"

ahaha

haha you will spend your life searching for that answer my friend ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33